Service to SFWA Awards

Two recipients for this year’s Service to SFWA Awards have been announced. Vonda N. McIntyre will receive a service award for her years maintaining various SFWA member websites. Keith Stokes will be honored for his service on multiple committees and management of SFWA news alerts. The presentations will be made during the Nebula Awards weekend in Cocoa Beach, Florida the weekend of May 14-16.

For more information…

Chicago Unopposed

Chicago in 2012 was the only Worldcon bid to file the necessary paperwork by the deadline for this year’s Worldcon site selection. Voting will be conducted at Aussiecon 4 in Melbourne, Australia. Chicago has announced dates from August 30-September 3, 2012.

For more information…

Speculative Literature Grant Available

The Speculative Literature Foundation’s Grant for Older Authors in open for application through March 31. This grant provides $750 to authors who are fifty years or older. Applicants should send in a short biography, writing sample, and bibliography, if applicable. The grant is intended to assist such writers who are just starting to work at a professional level.

For more information…

Pilgrim Award Winner

Eric S. Rabkin has been named the winner of the 2009 Pilgrim Award, presented by the Science Fiction Research Association. The Pilgrim Award is a lifetime achievement award given for contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship. Rabkin, who teaches at the University of Michigan, has published more than 30 volumes on SF.

For more information…

Obituary: Corey Haim

Actor Corey Haim (b.1971) died of an accidental overdose on March 10. Haim appeared in numerous films, including The Lost Boys, Watchers, and the tv film Merlin. Many of his projects were in conjunction with his long-time friend Corey Feldman, leading to the two being referred to as “the Two Coreys.”

Pyr Essay Contest

As part of its fifth anniversary celebration, Pyr Books invites readers and fans to submit a short essay on the theme: Five reasons why science fiction and fantasy is important to you. Entrants must be 21 years of age and live in the continental United States. Essays mush be no longer than 1500 words. All submissions must be received between April 1 and June 1, 2010. The Grand Prize is a round trip flight to Atlanta to attend Dragon*Con, hotel, convention membership, and dinner with Pyr editor Lou Anders and other Pyr authors.

For more information…

Baen Limerick Contest

Baen Books is sponsoring a limerick contest. The limerick should describe a favorite Baen author or novel or character in a riddle limerick that the reader has to solve. Entries should be sent to with the answer and a mailing address by March 31. All entrants who include a mailing address will receive an “I read Baened books” button.

For more information…

Wildside Looking For Help

Wildside Press is looking to hire someone in the Rockville, MD area to work part time for an hourly wage. The job will involve everything from filing to data entry to shipping to proofreading to typesetting to writing copy to editing for about 15-20 hours per week. Send resume to if interested.

Hall of Fame, Class of 10

The four inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame have been announced. The induction ceremony will take place at Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum in Seattle, Washington on June 26 as part of the Science Fiction Awards Weekend. This year’s inductees are listed below.

  • Octavia E. Butler
  • Richard Matheson
  • Douglas Trumbull
  • Roger Zelazny

For more information…

Academy Awards Presented

The Academy Awards were presented on Sunday, March 6. Without any major surprises, Katheryn Bigelow did make history by becoming the first woman to win the Best Director award. Winners of genre interest are listed below.

  • Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
  • Animated Film: Up
  • Original Score: Michael Giacchino, Up
  • Art Direction: Avatar
  • Cinematography: Avatar, Mauro Fiore
  • Makeup: Star Trek
  • Animated Short Film: Logorama
  • Visual Effects: Avatar
  • Governors Award: Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman and Gordon Willis

For more information…