Sunburst Nominees Announced

The finalists for the tenty annual Sunburst Award have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is presented by a jury and includes a cash prize of Can$1,000, and a medallion creted by Marcel Gagné. Awards are given in two categories, adult and young adult.

Adult Fiction

  • The Mystery of Grace, by Charles de Lint
  • Indigo Springs, by A.M. Dellamonica
  • makers, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Sunless Countries, by Karl Schroeder
  • Julian Comstock, by Robert Charles Wilson

Young Adult Fiction

  • Give Up the Ghost, by Megan Crewe
  • Amy By Any Other Name, by Maureen Garvie
  • Half World, by Hiromi Goto
  • Wondrous Strange, by Lesley Livingston
  • The Hunchback Assignment, by Arthur Slade

For more information…

Obituary: F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre

Author F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre (b.1948) died on June 25, an apparent suicide. MacIntyre was the author of The Woman Between the Worlds and MacIntyre’s Improbable Bestiary, the latter made up of his columns for Asimov’s. A body identified as MacIntyre’s was found in his burned apartment a day after he was taken to Coney Island Hospital for observation after police had received word that he might be suicidal.

Kurd Laßwitz Prize Winners

The winners of the Kurd Laßwitz Prize presented for German science fiction, have been announced.

  • Best Novel: Ein König für Deutschland, by Andreas Eschbach
  • Best Short Story: “Das Klassentreffen der Weserwinzer,” by Ernst Eberhard Manski
  • Best Foreign Novel: The Android’s Dream, by John Scalzi
  • Best Translation: Ulrich Blumenbach, for the translation of David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest
  • Best Illustration: Franz Vohwinkel for the cover art to Stephen Hunt’s The Court of the Air
  • Special Prize: Guido Latz

For more information…

Locus Award Winners

The winners of this year’s Locus Awards were announced at the Science Fiction Awards Weekend in Seattle on June 26. The Locus Awards are decided based on a vote of Locus readers.

  • Science Fiction Novel: Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest
  • Fantasy Novel: The City & The City, by China Miéville
  • First Novel: The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Young Adult Novel: Leviathan, by Scott Westerfeld
  • Novella: The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, by Kage Baker
  • Novelette: “By Moonlight,” by Peter S. Beagle
  • Short Story: “An Invocation of Incuriosity,” by Neil Gaiman
  • Magazine: F&SF
  • Publisher: Tor
  • Anthology: The New Space Opera 2, edited by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan
  • Collection: The Best of Gene Wolfe, by Gene Wolfe
  • Editor: Ellen Datlow
  • Artist: Michael Whelan
  • Non-Fiction/Art Book: Cheek by Jowl, by Ursula K. Le Guin

For more information…

SLF Older Writers Grant

The Speculative Literature Foundation has announced that Mario Milosevic is the winner of this year’s Older Writers Grant. The $750 prize is given to help writers who are at least 50 years old and beginning to work at a professional level. The award has been given annually since 2004.

For more information…

Gaiman Takes Carnegie

Neil Gaiman has won the Carnegie Medal for his novel The Graveyard Book. The award was established in 1936 in memory of philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, and includes a prize of a gold medal and a donation of books to the library of Gaiman’s choice. The Graveyard Book is the first book ever to win both the Carnegie Medal and the Newbery Medal.

For more information…

Saturn Awards

The 36th Annual Saturn Awards were presented on June 24 by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Films in Burbank, California.


  • Best Science Fiction Film: Avatar
  • Best Fantasy Film: Watchmen
  • Best Horror Film: Drag Me To Hell
  • Best Action/Adventure/Thriller Film: Inglourious Basterds
  • Best Actor: Sam Worthington for Avatar
  • Best Actress: Zoe Saldana for Avatar
  • Best Supporting Actor: Stephen Lang for Avatar
  • Best Supporting Actress: Sigourney Weaver for Avatar
  • Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Saoirse Ronan for The Lovely Bones
  • Best Director: James Cameron for Avatar
  • Best Writer: James Cameron for Avatar
  • Best Music: James Horner for Avatar
  • Best Costume: Michael Wilkinson for Watchmen
  • Best Make-Up: Barney Burman, Mindy Hall, Joel Harlow for Star Trek
  • Best Production Design: Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg (Avatar
  • Best Special Effects: Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones for Avatar
  • Best International Film: District 9
  • Best Animation Film: Monsters vs. Aliens


  • Best Television Series: Lost
  • Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: Breaking Bad
  • Best Presentation on Television: Torchwood: Children of Earth
  • Best Actor on Television: Josh Holloway for Lost
  • Best Actress on Television: Anna Torv for Fringe
  • Best Supporting Actor on Television: Aaron Paul for Breaking Bad
  • Best Supporting Actress on Televison: Julie Benz for Dexter
  • Guest Starring Role on Television: Leonard Nimoy for Fringe

Other Categories

  • Best DVD Release: Nothing But the Truth
  • Best DVD Television Release: Lost (The Complete Fifth Season)
  • Best DVD Special Edition: Watchman: The Ultimate Cut
  • Best DVD Collection: Star Trek Original Motion Picture Collection
  • Best Local Stage Production: Fantasy/Musical: Mary Poppins (Ahmanson Theatre)
  • Best Local Stage Production: Play/Dramatic Musical: Parade (Mark Taper Forum)
  • Best Local Stage Production: Small Theatre: Fellowship: The Musical (Falcon Theatre)
  • The Visionary Award: James Cameron
  • The George Pal Memorial Award: Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman
  • The Producers Showcase Award: Lauren Shuler Donner
  • The Life Career Award: Irvin Kershner

For more information…

Obituary: Bob Null

Los Angeles fan Bob Null (b.1938) died on June 23 after a battle with cancer. Null was long active in LASFS, serving twenty terms as the organization’s vice president. Null, who also sat on the Board of Directors, frequently handled logistics for local conventions.

John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award Nominees

The nominees for the John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award have been announced. The award will be presented to the winner during the Campbell Conference Award Banquet the weekend of july 16-18 in Lawrence, Kansas. The Campbell is a juried award and this year marks the departure of judge Paul A. Carter. He has been replaced by Paul di Filippo and Sheila Finch.

  • The Year of the Flood, by Margaret Atwood
  • The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Transition, by Iain M. Banks
  • Makers, by Cory Doctorow
  • Steal Across the Sky, by Nancy Kress
  • Gardens of the Sun, by Paul McAuley
  • The City & The City, by China Miéville
  • Yellow Blue Tibia, by Adam Roberts
  • Galileo’s Dream, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • WWW: Wake, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • The Caryatids, by Bruce Sterling
  • Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America, by Robert Charles Wilson

For more information…

Gemmell Award Winners

The winners of the David Gemmell Legend Awards have been announced. The awards are popularly selected by internet voters from around the world.

Best Fantasy Novel: Empire: The Legend of Sigmar, by Graham McNeill
The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer:The Cardinal’s Blades, by Pierre Pevel
The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art: Best Served Cold, by Didier Graffet & Dave Senior

For more information…