Eisner Award Winners

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were presented at the San Diego Comic-con on July 23. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Short Story: “Urgent Request,” by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Captain America #601: “Red, White, and Blue-Blood,” by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan
  • Best Continuing Series: The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard
  • Best Limited Series or Story Arc: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young
  • Best New Series: Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory
  • Best Publication for Kids: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz hc, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower, and Skottie Young
  • Best Publication for Teens: Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson
  • Best Humor Publication: Scott Pilgrim vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe, by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Best Anthology: Popgun vol. 3, edited by Mark Andrew Smith, D. J. Kirkbride, and Joe Keatinge
  • Best Digital Comic: Sin Titulo, by Cameron Stewart
  • Best Reality-Based Work: A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi
  • Best Adaptation from Another Work: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter, adapted by Darwyn Cooke
  • Best Graphic Album—New: Asterios Polyp, by David Mazzuccheilli
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Absolute Justice, by Alex Ross, Jim Krueger, and Doug Braithewaite
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: Bloom County: The Complete Library, vol. 1, by Berkeley Breathed, edited by Scott Dunbier
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures deluxe edition, by Dave Stevens, edited by Scott Dunbier
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Photographer, by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefévre, and Frédéric Lemerier
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi
  • Best Writer: Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project, Criminal, Incognito
  • Best Writer/Artist: David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp
  • Best Writer/Artist–Nonfiction: Joe Sacco, Footnotes in Gaza
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art): Jill Thompson, Beasts of Burden; Magic Trixie and the Dragon
  • Best Cover Artist: J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics
  • Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, Umbrella Academy, Zero Killer, Detective Comics, Luna Park
  • Best Lettering: David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon
  • Best Comics-Related Book: The Art of Harvey Kurtzman: The Mad Genius of Comics, by Denis Kitchen and Paul Buhle
  • Best Publication Design: Absolute Justice, designed by Curtis King and Josh Beatman
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Vault of Midnight, Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Hall of Fame (Judges’ Choices): Burne Hogarth and Bob Montana
  • Hall of Fame (Elected): Steve Gerber, Dick Giordano, Michael Kaluta, and Mort Weisinger
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Jeannie Schulz
  • Bill Finger Award for Achievement in Comic Book Writing: Otto Binder, Gary Friedrich
  • Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award: Marian Churchland

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.