Other Australian Awards

In addition to the Ditmar Awards, the Australian national award, several other Australian awards were presented during the Ditmar ceremony at Aussiecon 4 on September 4. They include:

  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Damien Broderick
  • Norma K. Hemming: The Gene Thieves, by Maria Quinn
  • Peter McNamara Award: Janine Webb
  • William Atheling Jr Award: The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of Science Fiction Feminisms, by Helen Merrick

The A. Bertram Chandler Award is presented for outstanding achievement in Australian science fiction.
The Norma K. Hemming Award is presented for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, class and sexuality. This is the first time this award has been presented.
The Peter McNamara Award is presented to a professional in the field of Australian science fiction.
The William Atheling Jr. Award is presented for criticism and reviews.