Obituary: Barbara Billingsley

Actress Barbara Billingsley (b.1915) died on October 16. Best known for her role as June Cleaver on Leave It to Beaver, Billingsley made several appearance in genre work, including Invaders from Mars, the original Angels in the Outfield, Amazing Stories, and Mork and Mindy. She received two Emmy nominations for her work on Muppet Babies.

FantasyCon Announced 2011 Site

FantasyCon 2011 has announced its 2011 location at the Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton from September 30-October 2. Guests of honor will include British author Gwyneth Jones and Swedish author John Ajvide Lindqvist. Sarah Pinborough will serve as mistress of ceremonies.

For more information…

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep Premieres

The Untitled Theatre Company will present an all new stage adaptation of Philip K. Dick’s novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep at the 3LD Art and Technology Center in New York from November 18 through December 11. The play is adapted and directed by Edward Einhorn and will run Thursdays through Sundays.

For more information…

Obituary: Alain Le Bussy

Belgian author and fan Alain Le Bussy (b.1947) died on October 14 from complications following throat surgery. Le Bussy was the editor of the fanzine Xuensè and was active in convention running. He wrote more than thirty novels and had two series, the “Aqualia” and the “Yorg” series. His novel Deltas received the Prix Rosny-Aîné in 1993 and in 1995, he was inducted into the European Science Fiction Society Hall of Fame.

Clarkesworld Editor Steps Down

Sean Wallace has stepped down as editor of Clarkesworld Magazine following the publication of issue #50. Wallace recently became the father of twins. Clarkesworld publisher Neil Clarke has also announced the addition of Jeremy L. C. Jones as a staff interviewer and Daniel Robichaud as a slush reader.

For more information…

World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement

Three authors have been named as recipients of the World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Award for 2010. The Awards will be presented on October 31 in Columbus, Ohio at the World Fantasy Con Banquet. The three winners are Brian Lumley, Terry Pratchett, and Peter Straub.

For more information…

Obituary: Alf van der Pooten

Australian fan Alf van der Pooten (b.1942) died on October 9. Van der Pooten was active in Sydney (and later Melbourne) fandom in the 1970s and 80s. He attended the first Syncon in Sydney and later became friends with Locus publisher Charles Brown, who he helped at the first three Aussiecons.

Obituary: Donald H. Tuck

Australian author Donald H. Tuck (b.1922) died on October 13. Tuck was Australia’s first Hugo Award winner for his the third and final volume of his study The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy in 1984. Tuck was the Australia Guest of Honor at Aussiecon I in 1975, but failed to show up.

National Book Award Nominees

The nominations for the National Book Awards have been announced and the Young Adult category has some works of genre interest. The awards are selected by a panel of five judges and carry a prize of $10,000 and a bronze trophy. All nominees win $1,000 and a bronze medal. Winners will be announced on November 17.

Young Adult

  • Ship Breaker, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Mockingbird, by Kathryn Erskine
  • Dark Waters, by Laura McNeal
  • Lockdown, by Walter Dean Myers
  • One Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams-Garci

For more information…

Stormtroopers in Milwaukee

The 501st Legion and the R2D2 Builders Group will be making an appearance at Discovery World in Milwaukee, Wisconsin on October 23 from 10-5. Light saber duels and costume showcases will be included in the regular cost of admission to the science museum/aquarium with $2 of every admission ticket being donated to the Make-a-Wish Foundation.

For more information…