Oscar Nominations

The nominees for this year’s Academy Awards have been announced and winners will be presented on February 27. This year’s nominees include Aussiecon 4 Artist Guest of Honor Shaun Tan for his short animated film The Lost Thing. Categories with nominees of genre interest are listed below.

Best Picture

  • Black Swan
  • The Fighter
  • Inception
  • The Kids Are All Right
  • The King’s Speech
  • 127 Hours
  • The Social Network
  • Toy Story 3
  • True Grit
  • Winter’s Bone

Animated Feature

  • How to Train Your Dragon
  • The Illusionist
  • Toy Story 3

Adapted Screenplay

  • 127 Hours, by Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy
  • Social Network, by Aaron Sorkin
  • Toy Story 3, Screenplay by Michael Arndt. Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit, by Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
  • Winter’s Bone, by Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini

Original Screenplay

  • Another Year, by Mike Leigh
  • The Fighter, Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson. Story by Keith Dorrington and Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson
  • Inception, Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right, Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg
  • The King’s Speech, by David Seidler

Art Direction

  • Alice in Wonderland, Robert Stromberg (Production Design) and Karen O’Hara (Set Decoration)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, Stuart Craig (Production Design) and Stephenie McMillan (Set Decoration)
  • Inception, Guy Hendrix Dyas (Production Design), Larry Dias and Doug Mowat (Set Decoration)
  • The King’s Speech, Eve Stewart (Production Design) and Judy Farr (Set Decoration)
  • True Grit, Jess Gonchor (Production Design) and Nancy Haigh (Set Decoration)

Achievement in Cinematography

  • Black Swan, Matthew Libatique
  • Inception, Wally Pfister
  • The King’s Speech, Danny Cohen
  • The Social Network, Jeff Cronenweth
  • True Grit, Roger Deakins

Achievement in Costume Design

  • Alice in Wonderland, Colleen Atwood
  • I Am Love, Antonella Cannarozzi
  • The King’s Speech , Jenny Beavan
  • The Tempest, Sandy Powell
  • True Grit, Mary Zophres

Achievement in Makeup

  • Barney’s Version, Adrien Morot
  • The Way Back, Edouard F. Henriques, Gregory Funk and Yolanda Toussieng
  • The Wolfman, Rick Baker and Dave Elsey

Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Score)

  • How to Train Your Dragon, John Powell
  • Inception, Hans Zimmer
  • The King’s Speech, Alexandre Desplat
  • 127 Hours, A.R. Rahman
  • The Social Network, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Song)

  • ”Coming Home” from Country Strong, Music and Lyric by Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey
  • ”I See the Light” from Tangled, Music by Alan Menken Lyric by Glenn Slater
  • ”If I Rise” from 127 Hours, Music by A.R. Rahman Lyric by Dido and Rollo Armstrong
  • ”We Belong Together” from Toy Story 3, Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

Best Animated Short Film

  • Day and Night, Teddy Newton
  • The Gruffalo, Jakob Schuh and Max Lang
  • Let’s Pollute, Geefwee Boedoe
  • The Lost Thing, Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann
  • Madagascar, carnet de voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary), Bastein DuBois

Achievement in Sound Editing

  • Inception, Richard King
  • Toy Story 3, Tom Myers and Michael Silvers
  • Tron: Legacy, Gwendolyn Yates Whittle and Addison Teague
  • True Grit, Skip Lievsay and Craig Berkey
  • Unstoppable, Mark P. Stoeckinger

Achievement in Sound Mixing

  • Inception, Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo, and Ed Novick
  • The King’s Speech, Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen, and John Midgley
  • Salt, Jeffrey J. Haboush, Greg P. Russell, Scott Millan, and William Sarokin
  • The Social Network, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, and Mark Weingarten
  • True Grit, Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff, and Peter F. Kurland

Achievement in Visual Effects

  • Alice in Wonderland, Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas, and Sean Phillips
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, Tim Burke, John Richardson, Christian Manz, and Nicolas Aithadi
  • Hereafter, Michael Owens, Bryan Grill, Stephan Trojanski, and Joe Farrell
  • Inception, Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley, and Peter Bebb
  • Iron Man 2, Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright, and Daniel Sudick

For more information…