Razzie Nominations Announced

The 31st annual Razzie Award nominations have been announced. The Razzies are given for the worst films to hit theatres in a given year. The nominations are announced the day before the Oscar nominations are announced and the awards are presented the night before the Oscars are presented. Below is a complete listing of nominees.

Worst Picture

  • The Bounty Hunter
  • The Last Airbender
  • Sex and the City #2
  • Twilight Saga: Eclipse
  • Vampires Suck

Worst Actor

  • Jack Black in Gulliver’s Travels
  • Gerard Butler in The Bounty Hunter
  • Ashton Kutcher in Killers and Valentine’s Day
  • Taylor Lautner in Twilight Saga: Eclipse and Valentine’s Day
  • Robert Pattinson in Twilight Saga: Eclipse and Remember Me

Worst Actress

  • Jennifer Aniston in The Bounty Hunter and The Switch
  • Miley Cyrus in The Last Song
  • The Four “Gal Pals” in Sex and the City #2 (Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis & Cynthia Nixon)
  • Megan Fox in Jonah Hex
  • Kristen Stewart in Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Worst Supporting Actor

  • Billy Ray Cyrus in The Spy Next Door
  • George Lopez in Marmaduke, The Spy Next Door, and Valentine’s Day
  • Dev Patel in The Last Airbender
  • Jackson Rathbone in Twilight Saga: Eclipse and The Last Airbender
  • Rob Schneider in Grown Ups

Worst Supporting Actress

  • Jessica Alba in The Killer Inside Me, Little Fockers, Machete, and Valentine’s Day
  • Cher in Burlesque
  • Liza Minnelli in Sex and the City #2
  • Nicola Peltz in The Last Airbender
  • Barbra Streisand in Little Fockers

Worst Eye-Gouging Mis-Use of 3-D (Special 2010 Category)

  • Cats & Dogs #2: Revenge of Kitty Galore
  • Clash of the Titans
  • The Last Airbender
  • Nutcracker 3-D
  • Saw 3-D (a.k.a. Saw VII)

Worst Screen Couple / Worst Screen Ensemble

  • Jennifer Aniston & Gerard Butler in The Bounty Hunter
  • Josh Brolin’s Face and Megan Fox’s Accent in Jonah Hex
  • The Entire Cast of The Last Airbender
  • The Entire Cast of Sex and the City #2
  • The Entire Cast of Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Worst Director

  • Jason Friedberg & Aaron Seltzer for Vampires Suck
  • Michael Patrick King for Sex and the City #2
  • M. Night Shyamalan for The Last Airbender
  • David Slade for Sex and the City #2
  • Sylvester Stallone for The Expendables

Worst Screenplay

  • M. Night Shyamalan for The Last Airbender
  • John Hamburg and Larry Stuckey for Little Fockers
  • Michael Patrick King for Sex and the City #2
  • Melissa Rosenberg for Twilight Saga: Eclipse
  • Jason Friedberg & Aaron Seltzer for Vampires Suck

Worst Prequel, Remake, Rip-Off or Sequel

  • Clash of the Titans
  • The Last Airbender
  • Sex and the City #2
  • Twilight Saga: Eclipse
  • Vampires Suck

For more information…

Con or Bust Auction

Con or Bust has begun to collect items for its auction to raise funds to assist fans of color to attend Wiscon. Last year, the initiative helped thirteen people attend the convention using the $6,183.89 they raised. This year, with the auction running from February 21 through March 6. Anyone who wishes to donate items for the auction can post to Con or Bust’s Livejournal page. Con or Bust is also considered starting a similar drive to help fans of color attend Arisia.

For more information…

Obituary: Jack C. Young

Louisville fan Jack C. Young (b.1946) died on January 21. Young was a long-time science fiction fan and had worked as a projectionist for Showcase Cinemas until his retirement.

DC Goes to Ratings

DC Comics has announced it will cease carrying the Comics Code Authority Seal of Approval. The CCA was established in 1954, partially in response to the studies and testimony of Fredric Wertham. DC’s competitor, Marvel, broke from the CCA in 2001. DC will move to a ratings system similar to that used by movies, television, and video games, with E for Everyone, T for Teen, T+ for over 16, and Mature for older than 18. All graphic novels in the Vertigo line will still be considered Mature.

For more information…

Jack Ketchum Named Horror Grand Master

Author Jack Ketchum (a.k.a. Dallas Mayr) has been named Grand Master by the World Horror Convention, scheduled to take place this year from April 28-May 1 in Austin, Texas. Ketchum has won numerous Stoker Awards for his novels and stories, which include Peaceable Kingdom and Closing Time.

For more information…

Suvudu Writing Contest

Suvudu is sponsoring a novel writing contest through March 18. Open to any unpublished novel less than 150,000, the winner will receive a full edit from Del Rey Senior Editor Betsy Mitchell and the novel will be considered for publication. Three runners up will receive a selection of Del Rey/Spectra novels.

For more information…

TAFF Podcast

All four contenders for this year’s Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund race to travel from Europe to North America, have participated in a podcast of interviews with Jim Mowatt. This year’s candidates include Graham Charnock, John Coxen, Liam Proven, and Paul Treadaway. TAFF voting is open until March 12, 2011.

For the podcast…
For more information on TAFF…

Atlantis Sells Out

Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, has announced that their room block at the Atlantis Hotel has sold out all 400 rooms on the first day of booking. Renovation notes that there are plenty of rooms available in the Peppermill and Marriott Courtyard.

For more information…

BSFA Nominations

The British Science Fiction Awards nominees have been announced. The awards will be presented at Eastercon in April.

Best Novel

  • The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Zoo City, by Lauren Beukes
  • The Restoration Game, by Ken Macleod
  • The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald
  • Lightborn, by Tricia Sullivan

Best Short Fiction

  • “Flying in the Face of God,” by Nina Allan
  • “The Shipmaker,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts
  • “Arrhythmia,” by Neil Williamson

Best Non-Fiction

  • Blogging the Hugos: Decline, by Paul Kincaid
  • Review, With Both Feet in the Clouds, by Abigail Nussbaum
  • Review, Wheel of Time, by Adam Roberts
  • Red Plenty, by Francis Spufford
  • The Notes from Coode Street Podcast, by Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe

Best Art

  • cover for Conflicts, by Andy Bigwood
  • cover for Fun With Rainbows, by Charlie Harbour
  • cover for The Cat’s Cradle, by Dominic Harman
  • cover for Zoo City, by Joey Hi-Fi
  • A Deafened Plea for Peace, by Ben Greene
  • cover for Finch, by Adam Tredowski

For more information…

Philip K. Dick Nominees

The nominees for the Philip K. Dick Award, presented annually for best paperback original book by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust, have been announced. The winner will be announced on Friday, April 22 at Norwescon 34 in Seatac, WA.

  • Yarn, by Jon Armstrong
  • Chill, by Elizabeth Bear
  • The Reapers Are the Angels, by Alden Bell
  • Song of Scarabaeus, by Sara Creasy
  • The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, by Mark Hodder
  • Harmony, by Project Itoh, translated by Alexander O. Smith
  • State of Decay, by James Knapp

For more information…