Golden Globe Winners

The winners of the 2011 Golden Globes, presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, were announced on January 16. Categories with winners of genre interest are listed below.

  • Best Animated Feature Film: Toy Story 3
  • Best Performance by an Actor In A Television Series – Comedy Or Musical: Jim Parsons in The Big Bang Theory

For complete nominations and results…

Obituary: Barry Hobart

Actor Barry Hobart (b.1942) died on January 11. Hobart is best known for his role of Dr. Creep, a horror movie host on WKEF Television in Dayton, Ohio. Hobart’s character debuted in 1972, introducing late night horror films, moving to Saturday afternoons later in the decade and eventually leaving the airwaves in 1985, although Hobart remained at the station until 1991. Throughout the 90s, he would continue to make appearances as the character.

Obituary: Susannah York

Actress Susannah York (b.1939) died on January 14. York appeared as Lara, Superman’s Kryptonian mother, in Superman, Superman II, and Superman IV: The Quest for Peace. Other genre films included Milo in the Land of Faraway, A Christmas Carol, and The Awakening. She was nominated for an Oscar for her appearance in They Shoot Horses, Don’t They and may be best known for her non-genre appearance in Tom Jones.

Future Aurora Prize Money

SF Canada has announced the creation of the SF Canada Award. The award will be a $500 prize given to the winners of the Aurora Award for Best Novel in both the English and French categories. The first cash award will be presented on May 13, 2011 at Congrès Boréal in Montréal to the winner of the Prix Aurora-Boréal. The second cash award will be presented on November 18-20, 2011 in Toronto to the winner of the Aurora Award for best fantasy and/or science fiction novel published in English.

For more information…

2011 RUSA Reading List

The 2011 RUSA Reading List has been announced at the ALA. The RUSA Readling list is compiled by the Reference and User Services Association and names a winner in several categories, along with releasing a list of books that are similar to the winners and a listing of the runners up. Categories with winners of genre interest are listed below. Click the link for a full list of winners, suggestions, and runners up.

  • Fantasy: Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Horror: The Dead Path, by Stephen M. Irwin
  • Science Fiction: The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald

For more information…

Huff Added as WFC 2012 Special Guest

World Fantasy Con 2012 has announced the addition of Canadian fantasy author Tanya Huff as a Special Guest. Huff has published the Blood Ties series, the Wizard of the Grove series, the Confederation series, the Quarters series, and more. The 2012 convention will be held in Toronto, Canada from November 1 through 4. Huff will join Guests of Honor Elizabeth Hand, John Clute, Richard A. Kirk, and Gary Wolfe.

For more information…

Older Writer Grant Available

The Speculative Literature Foundation’s Grant for Older Authors in open for application through March 31. This grant provides $750 to authors who are fifty years or older. Applicants should send in a short biography, writing sample, and bibliography, if applicable. The grant is intended to assist such writers who are just starting to work at a professional level. The winner will be announced on June 1.

For more information…

Aeon Award Opens

The Aeon Award is open for submissions for their 2011 award. Once again, the judges are Ian Watson, Anne McCaffrey, Mike Resnick, and Sam Millar and the grand prize is 1,000 euros and publication in Albedo One. Second and third prize will receive lesser cash amounts as well as publication. New this year, the first place winner will have the option of having the winning story published in Storywire on Authorlink. The Aeon Award is sponsored by the magazine Albedo One.

Obituary: Ann Cecil

Pittsburgh fan Ann Cecil (b.1940) died on January 11, a couple of days after entering hospice. Cecil was active in convention-running, having co-founded PARSEC, Confluence, SouthWrites, and the Pittsburgh Filk Underwriting Initiative. She was the Listener Guest at OVFF 12 and Fan Guest of Honor at Off-Key Contraption in 1994.

Obituary: Peter Yates

Director Peter Yates (b.1925) died on January 9. Yates directed the film Krull, as well as Year of the Comet, Curtain Call, Needful Things, and The Deep. Perhaps his best known films were Bullitt and Breaking Away.