Spectrum Art Winners

The winners of the annual Spectrum Art Awards were announced in Kansas City, MO on March 12. All the winners will be published later this year in Spectrum 18: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art as well works by this year’s Grand Master, who will be announced later.


  • Gold: “Narco Americano,” by Ryohei Hase
  • Silver: “The Fisherman’s Wife,” by Sam Weber


  • Gold: “God’s War,” by David Palumbo
  • Silver: “I Was a White Trash Zombie,” by Dan Dos Santos


  • Gold: “A Flight of Angels,” by Rebecca Guay
  • Silver: “Fables #96 Cover,” by Joao Ruas
  • Silver: “Sleep,” by David Palumbo

Concept Art

  • Gold: “Riven Earth,” by Kekai Kotaki
  • Silver: “Legends of Norrath Elemental Pact,” by Tomasz Jedruszek


  • Gold: “Giant Fisherman,” by David Meng
  • Silver: “Wind Messenger,” by Akihito


  • Gold: “Share One Planet,” by Android Jones
  • Silver: “Redd Wing,” by Brom


  • Gold: “Knight March,” by Richard Anderson
  • Silver: “Mind Machine,” by Donato Giancola


  • Gold: “Pandora,” by Rebecca Guay
  • Silver: “Tigers Have Striped Skin, Not Just Striped Fur,” by Scott Brundage
  • Silver: “White Heat,” by J.S. Rossbach

For more information…

SFX Blog Award Finalists

SFX has announced the finalists for its first SFX Blog Awards, presented to the best fan-driven and developed internet activity. The nominations were taken from SFX Form, team members, and bloggers. Anyone can vote at their website.

Best SF Podcast

  • The Geek Syndicate
  • Small Press Big Mouth
  • Escape Pod
  • Doctor Who Podshock

Best Fan Community

  • Gallifrey Base
  • The Trek BBS
  • Whedonesque
  • GateWorld

Best SF News Blog

  • Bid Dumb Object
  • Down the Tubes
  • The Doctor Who News Page
  • SFcrowsnest

Best Literary Blog

  • The Wertzone
  • Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review
  • Ansible
  • SF Signal

Best Franchise Specific Site

  • Supernatural Wiki
  • ChuckTV
  • The One Ring
  • The Leaky Cauldron
  • Life, Doctor Who and Combom
  • Who Fix

Best Celebrity Blog

  • Paul Cornell
  • James Moran
  • Neil Gaiman
  • Wil Wheaton
  • Jane Espenson
  • Warren Ellis
  • John Scalzi
  • Kate Griffin

For more information…

Jim Baen Memorial Contest Winners

The winners of the 2011 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest, sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, have been announced. The contest looks for stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner will be published as the featured story on the Baen Books main website and paid at the normal paying rates for professional stories and receive an award, membership to the 2011 International Space Development Conference, a year’s membership in the National Space Society, and a prize package containing various Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise.

  • Grand Prize: “That Undiscovered Country,” by Nancy Fulda
  • 2nd Place: “Gemini XVII,” by Brad Torgersen
  • 3rd Place: “Natural Selection,” by Michael Simon

For more information…

Lambda Award Nominees

The Lambda Award nominations, given for GLBT works, have been announced. Categories with nominees of genre interest are listed here. The winners will be announced on May 26 in New York.

GLBT SF/Fantasy/Horror

  • Diana Comet and Other Improbable Stories, by Sandra McDonald
  • Disturbed by Her Song, by Tanith Lee
  • Flowers of Edo, by Nene Adams
  • Wilde Stories 2010: The Year’s Best Gay Speculative Fiction, edited by Steve Berman
  • Wolfsbane Winter, by Jane Fletcher

Transgender Fiction

  • Glamazonia: The Uncanny Super Tranny, by Justin Hall with Diego Gomez, Fred Noland & Jon Macy
  • Holding Still for As Long As Possible, by Zoe Whittall
  • Jumpstart the World, by Catherine Ryan Hyde

For more information…

Prometheus Hall of Fame Nominees

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the nominees for this year’s Prometheus Hall of Fame Awards, given to novels or stories which reflect the ideals of Libertarians. The award, along with the Prometheus Best Novel Award, will be presented at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada.

  • “The Machine Stops,” by E. M. Forster (1909)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” by Rudyard Kipling (1912)
  • Animal Farm, by George Orwell (1945)
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman,” by Harlan Ellison (1965)
  • Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)

For more information…

Charges in Sohus Murder

Christian Karl Gerhartsreiter, who has also gone by the names “Clark Rockefeller,” “Christopher Crowe,” and “Christopher Chichester,” has been charged with the 1985 murder of LA fan and LASFS member Jonathan Sohus. Gerhartsreiter, who was using the Chichester name at the time, was a tenant of Sohus and his wife, Linda. Both Jonathan and Linda disappeared in 1985, but only Jonathan’s remains have been found.

For more information…

Obituary: James Vanover

James Vanover (b.1957), an employee of United Space Alliance, fell to his death from Launch Pad 39A at the Kennedy Space Center on March 14. Vanover was helping prepare the space shuttle Endeavour for its final launch, scheduled for April 19. Vanover had worked at NASA since 1983. According to NASA officials, Vanover is the first launch pad fatality since 1981, shortly before the maiden launch of Columbia. More details have not been released pending a safety investigation.

Game of Thrones in Guinness Book

Actor Roy Dotrice has achieved an entry in the Guinness Book of World Records for the greatest number of characters voiced in an audio book. Dotrice created and maintained voices for 224 distinct characters in his record of the 28-disc unabridged Game of Thrones, by George R. R. Martin. Dotrice was scheduled to appear as Grand Master Pycelle in the HBO series based on Game of Thrones. He has previously appeared in Babylon 5, Sliders, and as Jacob Wells in Beauty and the Beast and Zeus in Hercules: The Legendary Journeys.

For more information…

Willett: Writer in Residence

Canadian author Ed Willett has been named Writer-in-Residence for the Regina Public Library. The position will run from September 2011 through May 2012. The position will include talking about writing, conducting school readings, and holding at least one free workshop at the library. Willett is the twenty-fourth writer-in-residence since the program began in 1978 and will be the second speculative fiction author.

For more information…

Obituary: W. J. Maryson

Dutch author W. J. Maryson (b. Wim Stolk, 1950) died on March 9. Maryson won the 2004 Elf Fantasy Award for best fantasy novel for his work De Heer van de Diepten and also won the Paul Harland Prize for the story “Nietzsche Station” in 2007. Maryson’s novel Onmagiër: De torens van Romander was translated into English as The Towers of Romander in 2010. In addition to his work as an author, Maryson organized the Paul Harland Prize for fantasy, science fiction and horror stories. He was a frequent attendee at the World Fantasy Con.