Rhysling Nominations

The nominations for this year’s Rhysling Awards for poetry have been announced.
Short Poems

  • Greg Beatty, “On Keeping Pluto a Planet”
  • F. J. Bergmann, “Chronomancy”
  • F. J. Bergmann, “Cultural Climate”
  • Bruce Boston, “Lizards and Wind”
  • Rachel Manija Brown, “Minotaur Noir”
  • Shelly Bryant, “Compelling Outward Flight”
  • Rosalind Casey, “Patience”
  • G. O. Clark, “Putting Off the Past”
  • C.S.E. Cooney, “Dogstar Men”
  • Jennifer Crow, “Hoarding Light”
  • Jennifer Crow, “We Took Our Gods”
  • Jennifer Crow, “An Incomplete Map of Death”
  • Amal El-Mohtar, “Peach Creamed Honey”
  • Kendall Evans, “Here We Are/Implied in the Shadows/Cast Upon Saturn’s Atmosphere”
  • Angel Favazza, “Call of the Wired”
  • Michael Fosburg, “My Own Ending”
  • Melissa Frederick, “Volcanoes on Io”
  • Joshua Gage, “The Shoemaker’s Daughters”
  • Lyn C. A. Gardner, “Midnight Posture”
  • Jaimee Hills, “Tonight the Character of Death Will Be Played by Brad Pitt”
  • Janis Ian, “Welcome Home (The Nebulas Song)”
  • David C. Kopaska-Merkel, “A few stops on the journey”
  • Geoffrey A. Landis, “Rondel for Apollo 11″
  • B. J. Lee, “The Legend of the Flying Dutchman”
  • Rose Lemberg, “Twin-born”
  • Sarah Lindsay, “Planet Anhedonia”
  • C. S. MacCath, “A Path Without Bones”
  • W. S. Merwin, “The Chain to Her Leg”
  • Shweta Narayan, “Cave-smell”
  • Ruth Naylor, “What Mighty Force?”
  • Adrienne J. Odasso, “The Ghosts of Moody Street”
  • Stephanie Parent, “Tinkerbell”
  • Juan Manuel Perez, “Human Fighting Is Illegal”
  • Juan Manuel Perez, “El Codex Chupacabra”
  • Kelly Rose Pflug-Back, “My Bones’ Cracked Abacus”
  • Karen A. Romanko, “Binary Creation Myth”
  • R. Paul Sardanas, “The Black Lotus”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “The Witch in Your Mirror”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “Scrapyard Outpost”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “Quiet In Her Mind”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “Of Ithaca & Ice”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “The Darkness Whispers (Flagstaff, AZ 1930)”
  • Marge Simon, “Sightings”
  • Robin Spriggs, “Red Magic”
  • Sonya Taafe, “In the Earth in Those Days”
  • Sonya Taafe, “Anakatabasis”
  • Sonya Taafe, “By the Dog”
  • Sonya Taafe, “Domovoi, I Came Back!”
  • Nancy Ellis Taylor, “Genetic Memory Comes to Me”
  • Richard L. Tierney, “Yuletide”
  • Brian Trent, “A Holiday in Necropolis”
  • Patrice M. Wilson, “Images in the Dark”
  • Stephen M. Wilson, “Imagined World”
  • Stephen M. Wilson, “I, Cannibal…”
  • Stephen M. Wilson, “The Conjuror”
  • Jane Yolen, “The Gospel of the Rope”

Long Poem

  • Mary Alexandra Agner, “Tertiary”
  • Tara Barnett, “Star Reservation”
  • F. J. Bergmann, “Occidental”
  • Robert Borski, “The Pantheon”
  • Robert Borski, “Bubba”
  • Bruce Boston, “Dark Rains Here and There”
  • Lisa Bradley, “The Haunted Girl”
  • C. S. E. Cooney, “Ere One Can Say It Lightens”
  • C. S. E. Cooney, “The Sea King’s Second Bride”
  • Oscar L. Crawford, “My Wings Are Still Forming”
  • Malcolm Deeley, “On the Platform”
  • James S. Dorr, “Eight Top Vampire Hobbies”
  • Amal El Mohtar, “The Winter Tree”
  • Amal El Mohtar and Jessica P. Wick, “Courting Song for Selkies”
  • Hugh Fox and Eric Greinke, “Beyond Our Control”
  • Robert Frazier, “Wreck Diving the Starship”
  • Joshua Gage, “Rats”
  • Lyn C. A. Gardner, “Homecoming”
  • Theodora Goss, “Ravens”
  • Samantha Henderson, “The Gabriel Hound”
  • Irving, “Until the Light Fades”
  • Deborah P Kolodji and W. Gregory Stewart, “String Stories”
  • Rich Magahiz, “13 Ways of Looking at a Balrog”
  • Elizabeth R. McClellan, “Anything So Utterly Destroyed”
  • Jaime Moyer, “A Poem for no one at all”
  • Jaime Moyer, “Rain Face”
  • Kurt Newton, “The Cemetery”
  • Steven L. Peck, “The Five Known Sutras of Mechanical Man”
  • W. C. Roberts, “Stargazers”
  • Charles Saplak, “Dragonskull: Vision of Result”
  • Robin Spriggs, “Blatta Infernalis”
  • W. Gregory Stewart and David Kopaska-Merkel, “Seasons of the Worm”
  • J. E. Stanley, “crossroads”
  • Richard L. Tierney, “Autumn Chill”
  • Catherynne M. Valente, “Red Engines”
  • Steve Vernon, “Barren: A Chronicle in Futility”
  • Phoebe Wilcox, “A More Significant Sun”

For more information…

1 Comment

  1. Let loose the inner poet, the scientific way. Sort of. | Chaos Program — December 18, 2011 @ 12:13 am

    […] – and a few hundred poems, one of which was nominated for an award recently (See here or here. It’s under the long poem category, author: irving). Given the evidence, I tend to think of […]

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.