Obituary: Elisabeth Sladen

Actress Elisabeth Sladen (b.1948) died on April 19. Sladen is best known for her role as Sarah Jane Smith on Doctor Who from 1973 through 1976, a role she reprised several times, including on the new series of Doctor Who, which led to the creation of the Sarah Jane Adventures, on which she starred. In the 1980s, she also appeared in the television productions of Alice in Wonderland and Gulliver in Lilliput.

Obituary: Michael Sarrazin

Actor Michael Sarrazin (b.1940) died on April 17. Sarrazin appeared in episodes of The Outer Limits, The Ray Bradbury Theater, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, and Earth: Final Conflict. Sarrazin played the role of the monster in the film Frankenstein: The True Story.

Australian Shadow Award Winners

The Australian Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2010 Australian Shadow Awards. The award is presented for overall effect – the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance – of horror fiction written or edited by an Australian. Beginning in 2011, the three existing categories will be joined by awards for novel and collections.

  • Long Fiction winner: Under Stones, by Bob Franklin
  • Edited Publication winner: Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears, edited by Angela Challis & Marty Young
  • Short Fiction winner: “She Said,” by Kirstyn McDermott

For more information…

Norilana Book Sale

After a four year battle, Vera Nazarian is losing her home in California to foreclosure proceedings and will be moving cross-country to Vermont. Nazarian is asking for people to help her out by purchasing books from Norilana Press, which publishes in both paperback and e-book formats.

For more information…

SFX Blog Award Winners

SFX has announced the winners for its first SFX Blog Awards, presented to the best fan-driven and developed internet activity. The winners were determined by popular vote of fans on the SFX website.

  • Best SF Podcast: Doctor Who Podshock
  • Best Fan Community: Whedonesque
  • Best SF News Blog: The Doctor Who News Page
  • Best Literary Blog: SF Signal
  • Best Franchise Specific Site: Supernatural Wiki
  • Best Celebrity Blog: John Scalzi

For more information…

Obituary: Osamu Dezaki

Japanese animator Osamu Dezaki (b.1943) died on April 17. Dezaki was the director of Space Adventure Cobra, The Mighty Orbots, and Visionaries: Knights of the Magical Light. Dezaki was known for his signature “Postcard Memory,” in which the animation would freeze and be replaced by a stylized illustration of the same image. Dezaki also worked under the pseudonym “Makura Saki.”

World Fantasy in Brighton

The 2013 World Fantasy Con will be held in Brighton, UK from October 31-November 3, 2013. This is only the third time World Fantasy Con has been held outside North America, and the first time since 1997. Guests of Honour have not yet been announced, but the committee, which is headed by Amanda Foubister, Stephen Jones, and Michael Marshall Smith, has announced two themes for the convention, “World Fantasy Convention: The Next Generation”and “Arthur Machen @ 150.”

For more information…

Kurd Laßwitz Nominees

The Nominees for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany have been announced.

Best Novel

  • Der Lamo-Kodex, by Stefan Blankertz
  • Kinder der Ewigkeit, by Andreas Brandhorst
  • Yardang, by Marcus Hammerschmitt
  • Walpar Tonnraffir und der Zeigefinger, by Uwe Post
  • Korona, by Thomas Thiemeyer
  • Plasmawelt, by Michael Marcus Thurner

Best Short Story

  • Finja-Danielas Totenwache,” by Nadine Boos
  • Lod, Lad, Chine,” by Andreas Flögel
  • Die Schwelle,” by Michael K. Iwoleit
  • Kamele, Kuckucksuhren un Bienen,” by Heidrun Jänchen
  • Ende der Jagdsaison auf Orange,” by Karsten Kruschel
  • Die verhinderte Himmelfahrt der Jana Maria Magdalena Sibelius,” by Niklas Peinecke
  • Lebenslichter,” by Karla Schmidt

Best Foreign Novel

  • Transition, by Iain Banks
  • War of the Marionettes, by Adam-Troy Castro
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Tomorrow Code, by Brian Falkner
  • The City and the City, by Chine Miéville
  • Sun of Suns, by Karl Schroeder

Best Translation

    Eva Bauche-Eppers, for The City and the City

  • Juliane Gräbener-Müller & Nikolaus Stingl, for Anathem
  • Uwe-Michael Gutzschhahn, for Little Brother
  • Bernhard Kempen, for Metatropolis
  • Usch Kiausch, for Halting State
  • Stephanie Pannen, for Gods of Night

Best Illustration

  • Arndt Dreschsler, for the cover of Tschirque der Kreuzwächter
  • Jacek Kaczynski, for the cover of Die Audienz
  • Timo Kümmel, for the cover of Die Ankunft
  • David Fincher
  • Crossvalley Smith, for the cover of Exodus 27

Special Prize

  • Robert N. Bloch, for Bibliographie der utopischen und phantastischen Literatur 1750-1950
  • René Moreau, Heinz Wipperfürth, and Olaf Kemmler, for Exodus Magazine
  • Dieter von Reeken, for reprinting the fantastic stories of Oskar Hoffmann and for their continuing work to publish Kurd Laßwitz.
  • Ernst Wurdack, Heidrun Jänchen, Armin Rößler, and Dieter Schmitt, for publishing activity

For more information… (German)

Shirley Jackson Nominees

The nominees for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced. The awards, first presented in 2007, are given out annual at Readercon for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.


  • Dark Matter, by Michelle Paver
  • A Dark Matter, by Peter Straub
  • Feed, by Mira Grant
  • Mr. Shivers, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Reapers Are the Angels, by Alden Bell
  • The Silent Land, by Graham Joyce


  • The Broken Man, by Michael Byers
  • Chasing the Dragon, by Nicholas Kaufmann
  • “Mysterium Tremendum,” by Laird Barron
  • One Bloody Thing After Another, by Joey Comeau
  • Subtle Bodies, by Peter Dubé
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, by Tim Lebbon


  • “–30–,” by Laird Barron
  • “The Broadsword,” by Laird Barron
  • “Holderhaven,” by Richard Butner
  • “The Redfield Girls,” by Laird Barron
  • “Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains,” by Neil Gaiman

Short Story

  • “As Red as Red,” by Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • “Booth’s Ghost,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Foxes,” by Lily Hoang
  • “six six six,” by Laird Barron
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts

Single-Author Collection

  • Occultation, by Laird Barron
  • The Ones That Got Away, by Stephen Graham Jones
  • The Third Bear, by Jeff Vandermeer
  • What I Didn’t See, by Karen Joy Fowler
  • What Will Come After, by Scott Edelman

Edited Anthology

  • Black Wings: Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by S. T. Joshi
  • Haunted Legends, edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas
  • My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, edited by Kate Bernheimer
  • Stories: All New Tales, edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio
  • Swords and Dark Magic: The New Sword and Sorcery, edited by Jonathan Strahan and Lou Anders

For more information…

Hugo Nominations Set Record

Renovation has announced that it received 1,006 nominating ballots for the Hugo Award, the first time more than 1,000 ballots have been received for nominations. The ballots represent 21 countries on 6 continents. In 2010, 864 nominating ballots were received. The nominees for the Hugo Awards will be announced on April 24 jointly at Eastercon and Norwescon via streaming video.

Fore more information…