Casting for What Not to Wear

The TLC show What Not to Wear is holding casting calls in Chicago, Minneapolis, New York City, Salt Lake City, Houston, and Memphis. They are looking for a costumer, Science Fiction dresser, medieval maiden, craft obsessed, or just an over the top dresser to feature on their show. The casting associate producer, Meghan Griffin, is asking people to secretly nominate friends who fit the bill, providing the nominee’s name, age, size, height, marital status, occupation, home location, description of her personality, description of her style in full detail, at least 2 pictures that illustrate her lack of style, and the nominator’s contact info.

For more information, e-mail Meghan Griffin at

SFRA Award Winners

The Science Fiction Research Association announced their awards in advance of their annual conference, which will be held this year in Lublin, Poland from July 7-11. The awards recognize scholarship into science fiction and fantasy. The Pilgrim Award is a lifetime achievement award. The Pioneer Award is given for best essay of the year. The Clareson Award is presented for service to SF scholarship. The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for best article, essay, or review to appear in the SFRA Review.

  • Pilgrim Award: Donna Haraway
  • Pioneer Award: John Rieder, “On Defining SF, or Not: Genre Theory, SF, and History”
  • Clareson Award: The Tiptree Motherboard (Karen Joy Fowler, Debbie Notkin, Ellen Klages, Jeanne Gomoll, Jeff Smith, Pat Murphy)
  • Mary Kay Bray: Alfredo Suppia, “Southern Portable Panic: Federico Álvarez’s Ataque de Pánico!”
  • Student Paper: Bradley Fest, “Tales of Archival Crisis: Stephenson’s Reimagining of the Post-Apocalyptic Frontier”
  • Student Paper Honorable Mention: Erin McQuiston, “Thank God It’s Friday: Threatened Frontier Masculinity in Robinson Crusoe on Mars”

For more information…

Gaylactic Spectrum Winners

The winners of the 2010 Gaylactic Spectrum Awards were announced at Outlanticon/Gaylaxicon in Atlanta, GA during the weekend of May 14. The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards were founded in 1998 to recognize science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues.

  • “The Behold of the Eye,” by Hal Duncan
  • “The Rocky Side of the Sky,” by Melissa Scott

For more information…

Ion Hobana Award

The winners of the Ion Hobana Award, named for the Romanian science fiction author, have been announced. The awards are presented for excellence in science fiction in Romania.

  • Lifetime Achievement: Mircea Oprita
  • Best SF Novel: SF Two, by Cristian Mihail Teodorescu
  • Best Fantasy Novel: The World of Waldemar, by Liviu Radu
  • A Young Hope: Bogdan Catalin Mereuta

Prix Aurora Winners and Nominees

The French language winners of the Prix Aurora were announced on May 15 in Montreal and the nominees in the English categories were announced at the same time.

French winners:

  • Best French Novel:
  • La tueuse de dragons, by Héloïse Côté

  • Best French Short Story: “Pour l’honneur d’un Nohaum,” by Philippe-Aubert Côté
  • Best French Related Work: Solaris (Revue. editor in chief: Joël Champetier)

And the English language nominations:

Professional Awards
Best English Novel

  • Black Bottle Man, by Craig Russell
  • Destiny’s Blood, by Marie Bilodeau
  • Stealing Home, by Hayden Trenholm
  • Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer

Best English Short Story

  • “The Burden of Fire,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • “Destiny Lives in the Tattoo’s Needle,” by Suzanne Church
  • “The Envoy,” by Al Onia
  • “Touch the Sky, They Say,” by Matt Moore
  • “Your Beating Heart,” by M. G. Gillett

Best English Poem / Song

  • “The ABCs of the End of the World,” by Carolyn Clink
  • “Let the Night In,” by Sandra Kasturi
  • “Of the Corn: Kore’s Innocence,” by Colleen Anderson
  • “The Transformed Man,” by Robert J. Sawyer
  • “Waiting for the Harrowing,” by Helen Marshall

Best English Graphic Novel

  • Goblins, by Tarol Hunt
  • Looking For Group, Vol. 3, by by Ryan Sohmer
  • Stargazer, Volume 1, by by Von Allan
  • Tomboy Tara, by Emily Ragozzino

Best English Related Work

  • Chimerascope, by Douglas Smith
  • The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi
  • Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead, edited by Nancy Kilpatrick
  • On Spec, edited by Diane Walton
  • Tesseracts Fourteen, edited by John Robert Colombo and Brett Alexander Savory

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur)

  • Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk
  • Erik Mohr
  • Christina Molendyk
  • Dan O’Driscoll
  • Aaron Paquette

Fan / Amateur Awards
Best Fan Publications
No award will be given out in this category due insufficient eligible nominees

Best Fan Filk

  • Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers of Dandelion Wine for “Face on Mars” CD
  • Karen Linsley; concert as SFContario Guest of Honour
  • Phil Mills, for “Time Traveller” (song writing)

Best Fan Organizational

  • Andrew Gurudata, organizing the Constellation Awards
  • Brent M. Jans, chair of Pure Speculation (Edmonton)
  • Liana Kerzner, chair of Futurecon (Toronto)
  • Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi, chairs of Toronto SpecFic Colloquium (Toronto)
  • Alex Von Thorn, chair of SFContario (Toronto)

Best Fan Other

  • Tom Jeffers, Fundraising, FilKONtario
  • John and Linda Ross Mansfield, Conception of the Aurora Nominee pins
  • Lloyd Penney, Articles, columns and letters of comment – fanzines

For more information…

Obituary: Edward Hardwicke

Actor Edward Hardwicke (b.1932) died in on May 16. The son of Sir Cedric Hardwicke, he was best known for his portrayal of Dr. Watson opposite Jeremy Brett’s Sherlock Holmes. He also appeared in the films Baby: Secret of the Lost Legend, Journey into Darkness, and Photographing Fairies.