Writers of the Future Grand Prize Winners

The winners of the grand prizes for the Writers/Illustrators of the Future Award were announced in Los Angeles at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. The contests in their 27th and 22nd year, were founded by L. Ron Hubbard to promote science fiction

  • Writers of the Future: Richard P.L. Johnson, for his story “In Apprehension, How Like a God”
  • Illustrators of the Future: Irvin Rodriguez

For more information…

Aurealis Winners

The winners for this year’s Aurealis Awards, presented for excellence in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. The awards were presented on May 21 at a ceremony held at the Independent Theatre in Sydney.

  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words): The Keepers, by Lian Tanner
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, by Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • Young Adult Short Story: “A Thousand Flowers, Margo Lanagan, Zombies Vs Unicorns, Allen & Unwin
  • Young Adult Novel: Guardian of the Dead, by Karen Healey
  • Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Changing Ways Book 1, by Justin Randall
  • Best Collection: The Girl With No Hands, by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: Wings of Fire, edited by Jonathan Strahan & Marianne S. Jablon
  • Horror Short Story:”The Fear,” by Richard Harland
  • Horror Novel: Madigan Mine, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Fantasy Short Story: “The February Dragon,” by LL Hannett & Angela Slatter
  • Fantasy Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Science Fiction Short Story: “The Heart of a Mouse,” by K.J. Bishop
  • Science Fiction Novel: Transformation Space, by Marianne de Pierres

For more information…