Aurealis Winners

The winners for this year’s Aurealis Awards, presented for excellence in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. The awards were presented on May 21 at a ceremony held at the Independent Theatre in Sydney.

  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words): The Keepers, by Lian Tanner
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, by Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • Young Adult Short Story: “A Thousand Flowers, Margo Lanagan, Zombies Vs Unicorns, Allen & Unwin
  • Young Adult Novel: Guardian of the Dead, by Karen Healey
  • Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Changing Ways Book 1, by Justin Randall
  • Best Collection: The Girl With No Hands, by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: Wings of Fire, edited by Jonathan Strahan & Marianne S. Jablon
  • Horror Short Story:”The Fear,” by Richard Harland
  • Horror Novel: Madigan Mine, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Fantasy Short Story: “The February Dragon,” by LL Hannett & Angela Slatter
  • Fantasy Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Science Fiction Short Story: “The Heart of a Mouse,” by K.J. Bishop
  • Science Fiction Novel: Transformation Space, by Marianne de Pierres

For more information…

  1. Aurealis Award « Lian Tanner — May 21, 2011 @ 5:12 pm

    […] the full list of winners. Note that Tasmania has done very well, with Tansy Rayner Roberts winning the Fantasy Novel Award […]