SFWA Officers

The results of the SFWA election were announced at the SFWA business meeting held at the Nebula Awards Weekend.

President: John Scalzi
Vice President: Mary Robinette Kowal
Secretary: Robert J. Howe
Treasurer: Bud Sparhawk
Eastern Regional Director: Catherynne M. Valente

Singular Effect Cornerstone Award

The Singularity Effect has announced the winner of its first Cornerstone Award, presented by a group of fans from the Carolinas to honor and acknowledge the achievements and contributions of other Carolina fans. The first award is presented to Jeff Smith, founder and organizer of the Mid-Atlantic Convention Expo (MACE). Smith has also worked on StellarCon, and running other conventions including Roc of Ages and BabTrek. The award will be presented at ConCarolinas in Charlotte during the weekend of June 3-5.

The Singularity Effect consists of Everette Beach, Paul Cory, James & Tera Fulbright, Laura Haywood Cory, Mill Mann, and Ron and Stephanie McClung.

Analog/Asimov’s Awards

The Analog and Asimov’s Awards were presented at a breakfast in Washington, D.C. during the Nebula Awards Weekend on May 21 by Stan Schmidt and Sheila Williams.

Analog Analytical Laboratory Winners (Anlab)

  • Best Novella: “Phantom Sense,” by Richard A. Lovett &
    Mark Niemann-Ross (11/10)

  • Best Novelette: “Outbound,” by Brad R. Torgersen (11/10)
  • Best Short Story: “Red Letter Day,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (9/10)
  • Best Fact: “Tips for the Budget Time-Traveler,” by Shane Tourtellotte (12/10)
  • Best Cover: December 2010 by Bob Eggleton

Asimov’s Readers’ Award Winners

  • Best Novella: “Becoming One With the Ghosts,” by
    Kristine Kathryn Rusch (10-11/10)

  • Best Novelette: “The Emperor of Mars,” by Allen M. Steele (6/10)
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “The Lovely Ugly,” by Carol Emshwiller (tie) (8/10); “Libertarian Russia,” by Michael Swanwick (tie) (12/10)
  • Best Poem: “Welcome Home,” by Janis Ian (10-11/10)
  • Best Cover Artist: (tie) Tomislav Tikulin (7/10); Michael Whelan (8/10)

Gemmell Nominations

The nominees for the second Gemmell Awards for fantasy have been announced. The Gemmell Awards are popularly voted awards. Anyone can vote by visiting the Gemmell Award website.

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer:

  • Spellwright , by Blake Charlton
  • Warrior Priest, by Darius Hinks
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Shadow Prowler, by Alexey Pehov
  • Tymon’s Flight, by Mary Victoria

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art:

  • Olof Erla Einarsdottir for the cover of Power & Majesty
  • Victoria Frank for the cover of Tymon’s Flight
  • Todd Lockwood for the cover of The Ragged Man
  • Cliff Nielson for the cover of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
  • Jon Sullivan for the cover of Shadow King

The David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2010:

  • The Desert Spear, by Peter V. Brett
  • War of the Dwarves, by Markus Heitz
  • Towers of Midnight, by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
  • The Alchemist in the Shadow, by Pierre Pevel
  • The Way of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Black Prism, by Brent Weeks

For more information…