Translation Award Nominees

The finalists for the 2010 SF & F Translation Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced at the 2011 Eurocon in Stockholm on the weekend of June 17-19 with both author and translator receiving a prize of US$350. The jury for the awards was comprised of Terry Harpold, Abhijit Gupta, and Dale Knickerbocker.

Long Form

  • The Golden Age, by Michal Ajvaz, translated by Andrew Oakland. Original publication in Czech as Zlatý Věk.
  • The Ice Company, by G.-J. Arnaud [Georges-Camille Arnaud], translated by Jean-Marc Lofficier and Randy Lofficier. Original publication in French as La Compagnie des Glaces.
  • A Life on Paper: Stories, by Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud, translated by Edward Gauvin. Original publication in French.
  • Four Stories till the End, by Zoran Živković, translated by Alice Copple-Tošić. Original publication in Serbian as Četiri priče do kraja.

Short Form

  • “Wagtail,” by Marketta Niemelä, translated by Liisa Rantalaiho. Original publication in Finnish as “Västäräkki.”
  • “Elegy for a Young Elk,” by Hannu Rajaniemi, translated by Hannu Rajaniemi. Original publication in Finnish.
  • “Bear’s Bride,” by Johanna Sinisalo, translated by Liisa Rantalaiho. Original publication in Finnish as “Metsän tutt.”
  • “Midnight Encounters,” by Hirai Tei’ichi, translated by Brian Watson. Original publication in Japanese.

For more information…

SFWA Officers

The results of the SFWA election were announced at the SFWA business meeting held at the Nebula Awards Weekend.

President: John Scalzi
Vice President: Mary Robinette Kowal
Secretary: Robert J. Howe
Treasurer: Bud Sparhawk
Eastern Regional Director: Catherynne M. Valente

Singular Effect Cornerstone Award

The Singularity Effect has announced the winner of its first Cornerstone Award, presented by a group of fans from the Carolinas to honor and acknowledge the achievements and contributions of other Carolina fans. The first award is presented to Jeff Smith, founder and organizer of the Mid-Atlantic Convention Expo (MACE). Smith has also worked on StellarCon, and running other conventions including Roc of Ages and BabTrek. The award will be presented at ConCarolinas in Charlotte during the weekend of June 3-5.

The Singularity Effect consists of Everette Beach, Paul Cory, James & Tera Fulbright, Laura Haywood Cory, Mill Mann, and Ron and Stephanie McClung.

Analog/Asimov’s Awards

The Analog and Asimov’s Awards were presented at a breakfast in Washington, D.C. during the Nebula Awards Weekend on May 21 by Stan Schmidt and Sheila Williams.

Analog Analytical Laboratory Winners (Anlab)

  • Best Novella: “Phantom Sense,” by Richard A. Lovett &
    Mark Niemann-Ross (11/10)

  • Best Novelette: “Outbound,” by Brad R. Torgersen (11/10)
  • Best Short Story: “Red Letter Day,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (9/10)
  • Best Fact: “Tips for the Budget Time-Traveler,” by Shane Tourtellotte (12/10)
  • Best Cover: December 2010 by Bob Eggleton

Asimov’s Readers’ Award Winners

  • Best Novella: “Becoming One With the Ghosts,” by
    Kristine Kathryn Rusch (10-11/10)

  • Best Novelette: “The Emperor of Mars,” by Allen M. Steele (6/10)
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “The Lovely Ugly,” by Carol Emshwiller (tie) (8/10); “Libertarian Russia,” by Michael Swanwick (tie) (12/10)
  • Best Poem: “Welcome Home,” by Janis Ian (10-11/10)
  • Best Cover Artist: (tie) Tomislav Tikulin (7/10); Michael Whelan (8/10)

Gemmell Nominations

The nominees for the second Gemmell Awards for fantasy have been announced. The Gemmell Awards are popularly voted awards. Anyone can vote by visiting the Gemmell Award website.

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer:

  • Spellwright , by Blake Charlton
  • Warrior Priest, by Darius Hinks
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Shadow Prowler, by Alexey Pehov
  • Tymon’s Flight, by Mary Victoria

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art:

  • Olof Erla Einarsdottir for the cover of Power & Majesty
  • Victoria Frank for the cover of Tymon’s Flight
  • Todd Lockwood for the cover of The Ragged Man
  • Cliff Nielson for the cover of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
  • Jon Sullivan for the cover of Shadow King

The David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2010:

  • The Desert Spear, by Peter V. Brett
  • War of the Dwarves, by Markus Heitz
  • Towers of Midnight, by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
  • The Alchemist in the Shadow, by Pierre Pevel
  • The Way of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Black Prism, by Brent Weeks

For more information…

Nebula Awards Presented

The Nebula Awards were presented on the evening of May 21 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. as part of the Nebula Award Weekend. The Ceremony also included the presentation of the Service to SFWA Award, the Solstice Awards, the Bradbury Award, and the Andre Norton Award.

  • Service to SFWA: John Johnston, III
  • Solstice Award: James Tiptree, Jr./Alice B. Sheldon
  • Solstice Award: Michael Whelan
  • Ray Bradbury Award: Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan
  • Andre Norton Award: I Shall Wear Midnight, by Terry Pratchett
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “How Interesting: A Tiny Man,” Harlan Ellison; “Ponies,” by Kij Johnson
  • Best Novelette: “That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made,” by Eric James Stone
  • Best Novella: “The Lady Who Plucked Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window,” by Rachel Swirsky
  • Best Novel: Blackout and All Clear, by Connie Willis

For more information…

Writers of the Future Grand Prize Winners

The winners of the grand prizes for the Writers/Illustrators of the Future Award were announced in Los Angeles at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. The contests in their 27th and 22nd year, were founded by L. Ron Hubbard to promote science fiction

  • Writers of the Future: Richard P.L. Johnson, for his story “In Apprehension, How Like a God”
  • Illustrators of the Future: Irvin Rodriguez

For more information…

Aurealis Winners

The winners for this year’s Aurealis Awards, presented for excellence in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. The awards were presented on May 21 at a ceremony held at the Independent Theatre in Sydney.

  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words): The Keepers, by Lian Tanner
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, by Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • Young Adult Short Story: “A Thousand Flowers, Margo Lanagan, Zombies Vs Unicorns, Allen & Unwin
  • Young Adult Novel: Guardian of the Dead, by Karen Healey
  • Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Changing Ways Book 1, by Justin Randall
  • Best Collection: The Girl With No Hands, by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: Wings of Fire, edited by Jonathan Strahan & Marianne S. Jablon
  • Horror Short Story:”The Fear,” by Richard Harland
  • Horror Novel: Madigan Mine, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Fantasy Short Story: “The February Dragon,” by LL Hannett & Angela Slatter
  • Fantasy Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Science Fiction Short Story: “The Heart of a Mouse,” by K.J. Bishop
  • Science Fiction Novel: Transformation Space, by Marianne de Pierres

For more information…

Neil Gaiman at the National Press Club

Neil Gaiman will be discussing the tenth anniversary edition of American Gods at the National Press Club in Washington, DC on June 23 at 6:30. The ticketed event costs $5. Copies of American Gods may be purchased at the time of registration, with proceeds going to support the Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library. No outside books will be permitted.

For more information…

Final Shuttle Launch Scheduled

NASA has announced that the final launch of the Space Shuttle Atlantis will occur on July 8, 2011. This will also be the final launch of the space shuttle program, which began with the launch of Columbia in 1981. Atlantis was previously scheduled for a final launch in May, 2010.

For more information…