Obituary: Lew Sayre Schwartz

Artist Lew Sayre Schwartz (b.1926) died on June 19 following a fall which resulted in a brain hemorrhage. Schwartz worked as a ghost artist for Bob Kane on Batman from 1946 through 1953, when he went to work for King Features. Schwartz’s work in advertising would eventually win him 4 Emmys and 6 Clios. Schwartz also helped create the title sequence for the film Dr. Strangelove and taught at the School of Visual Arts,where he founded the film department.

Stoker Award Winners

The winners of the Stoker Awards, presented by the Horror Writers of America, were announced on June 18. The Stoker Awards are given to recognize superior achievement in the field of horror fiction. The four HWA Award winners were previously announced.

  • Superior Achievement in a Novel: A Dark Matter, by Peter Straub
  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel (tie): Black and Orange, by Benjamin Kane Ethridge and
    Castle of Los Angeles, by Lisa Morton

  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: Invisible Fences, by Norman Prentiss
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “The Folding Man,” by Joe R. Lansdale
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: Haunted Legends, edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas
  • Superior Achievement in a Collection: Full Dark, No Stars, by Stephen King
  • Superior Achievement in Nonfiction: To Each Their Darkness, by Gary A. Braunbeck
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Dark Matters, by Bruce Boston
  • HWA Specialty Press Award
: Dark Regions Press
  • HWA Silver Hammer Award: Angel Leigh McCoy
  • HWA Richard Laymon Award: Michael Colangelo
  • HWA Lifetime Achievement Winners: Ellen Datlow and Al Feldstein

For more information…

Sidewise Award Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History have been announced. The winners will be announced at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada during the weekend of August 17. The awards ceremony has tentatively been scheduled for Thursday, August 18 at 9:00 PM. The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

  • Mammoths of the Great Plains, by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Alten Kameraden,” by Barry B. Longyear
  • “Sidewinders,” by Ken MacLeod
  • “A Clash of Eagles,” by Alan Smale
  • “Goin’ Down to Anglotown,” by William F. Wu

Long Form

  • Columbia & Britannia, by Adam Chamberlain & Brian A. Dixon
  • Red Inferno: 1945, by Robert Conroy
  • Pinion, by Jay Lake
  • When Angels Wept, by Eric Swedin

For more information…

Golden Duck Awards

The winners of the Golden Duck Awards, presented annually by SupderConDuckTivity, have been announced. The Golden Ducks are given to recognize excellence in young adult science fiction. The awards will be presented at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon.

  • Picture Book: Oh, No, or How My Science Project Destroyed the World, by Mac Bennett
  • Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grades: Alien Encounter, by Pamela Service and Mike Gorman
  • Hal Clement Award for Young Adults: WWW: Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer

For more information…

Obituary: Alan Ryan

Author Alan Ryan (b.1943) died on June 3. Ryan wrote the horror novels The Kill, Dead White, and Cast a Cold Eye, as well as numerous short stories. In addition to his fiction, Ryan also edited several anthologies, including Vampires, Perpetual Light, and Night Visions 1. Ryan won a World Fantasy Award for his short story “The Bones Wizard” and was a nominee for the John W. Campbell Award in 1979. In recent years, he has suffered a stroke, a heart attack, and pancreatic cancer.

Obituary: John Glasby

British author John Glasby (b.1928) died on June 5. Glasby began writing in the 1950s, using numerous pseudonyms and house names. In 1971, he published the novel Project Jove under his own name. In addition to his science fiction novels and short stories, he also wrote numerous horror and ghost stories, including several in the Cthulhu mythos. Among the pseudonyms he used were “A. J. Merak,” “John E. Muller”, “Karl Zeigfreid,” and “Victor LaSalle.”

Sterling Papers to UTex

Bruce Sterling has donated a collection to the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Sterling is donating more than 250 books from his library and 322 serial volumes, many of which are editions of his own work or contain his work. The donation also includes drafts of Sterling’s novels. Sterling graduated from the University of Texas and his collection now joins the collection of L. Sprague and Catherine de Camp and L.W. Currey.

For more information…

L.A. Banks Ailing

Author Leslie Esdaile, who writes as L. A. Banks, went into the hospital in May for treatment and is gravely ill. A fund has been established to help cover her mounting medical costs. Donations may be made to:

Leslie Esdaile Fund
Account #81538801
Police and Fire Federal Credit Union
Operations Center
901 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-2404

For more information…

Obituary: Laura Ziskin

Producer Laura Ziskin (b.1950) died on June 12. Ziskin was a producer of the three Spider-Man films as well as the forthcoming The Amazing Spider-Man. She also worked as a producer on The Eyes of Laura Mars and Stealth. Following a 2004 breast cancer diagnosis, Ziskin co-founded Stand Up to Cancer, a charity that has raised more than $200 million for cancer research.

Sturgeon and Campbell Nominees

The nominations for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Award and John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award have been announced. Both awards will be presented at the Campbell Conference, scheduled for the weekend of July 7-10 in Lawrence, KS. This year’s Sturgeon jury includes James Gunn, Kij Johnson, Frederik Pohl, Noel Sturgeon, and George Zebrowski. The Campbell jury is made up of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.

Sturgeon Nominees

  • “Mammoths of the Great Plains,” by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Under the Moons of Venus,” by Damien Broderick
  • “The Maiden Flight of McAuley’s Bellerophon,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds,” by Geoffrey A. Landis
  • “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain,” by Yoon Ha Lee
  • “Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance,” by Paul Park
  • “Dead Man’s Run,” by Robert Reed
  • “Troika,” by Alastair Reynolds
  • “A Letter from the Emperor,” by Steve Rasnic Tem
  • “The Night Train,” by Lavie Tidhar
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts

Campbell Memorial Nominees

  • Yarn, by Jon Armstrong
  • Hull Zero Three, by Greg Bear
  • Zero History, by William Gibson
  • C, by Tom McCarthy
  • The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald
  • New Model Army, by Adam Roberts
  • The Quantum Thief, by Jannu Rajaniemi
  • Veteran, by Gavin Smith
  • The Waters Rising, by Sheri S. Tepper
  • Aurorarama, by Jean-Christophe Valtat
  • Anthill, by E.O. Wilson
  • Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis
  • How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, by Charles Yu

For more information…