World Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominations for this year’s World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The World Fantasy Awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Con, to be held the weekend of October 27-30 in San Diego, CA.

Best Novel

  • Zoo City, by Lauren Beukes
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin
  • The Silent Land, by Graham Joyce
  • Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Redemption In Indigo, by Karen Lord
  • Who Fears Death, by Nnedi Okorafor

Best Novella

  • Bone and Jewel Creatures, by Elizabeth Bear
  • The Broken Man, by Michael Byers
  • “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, by Tim Lebbon
  • “The Mystery Knight,” by George R.R. Martin
  • “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window,” by Rachel Swirsky

Best Short Fiction

  • “Beautiful Men,” by Christopher Fowler
  • “Booth’s Ghost,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “Ponies,” by Kij Johnson
  • “Fossil-Figures,” by Joyce Carol Oates
  • “Tu Sufrimiento Shall Protect Us,” by Mercurio D. Rivera

Best Anthology

  • The Way of the Wizard, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me, edited by Kate Bernheimer
  • Haunted Legends, edited by Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas
  • Stories: All-New Tales, edited by Neil Gaiman & Al Sarrantonio
  • Black Wings: New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • Swords & Dark Magic, edited by Jonathan Strahan & Lou Anders

Best Collection

  • What I Didn’t See and Other Stories, by Karen Joy Fowler
  • The Ammonite Violin & Others, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Holiday, by M. Rickert
  • Sourdough and Other Stories, by Angela Slatter
  • The Third Bear, by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Artist

  • Vincent Chong
  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Richard A. Kirk
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan

Special Award, Professional

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing and anthologies
  • Lou Anders, for editing at Pyr
  • Marc Gascoigne, for Angry Robot
  • Stéphane Marsan & Alain Névant, for Bragelonne
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications

Special Award, Non-Professional

  • Stephen Jones, Michael Marshall Smith, & Amanda Foubister, for Brighton Shock!: The Souvenir Book of the World Horror Convention 2010
  • Alisa Krasnostein, for Twelfth Planet Press
  • Matthew Kressel, for Sybil’s Garage and Senses Five Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker
  • Lavie Tidhar, for The World SF Blog

For more information…