Eisner Winners

The Eisner Awards were announced at Comic Con San Diego on July 22. Below are the winners.

  • Best Short Story: “Post Mortem,” by Greg Rucka and Michael Lark
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Hellboy: Double Feature of Evil, by Mike Mignola and Richard Corben
  • Best Continuing Series: Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory
  • Best Limited Series: Daytripper, by Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá
  • Best New Series: American Vampire, by Scott Snyder, Stephen King, and Rafael Albuquerque
  • Best Publication for Kids: Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco
  • Best Publication for Teens: Smile, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Best Humor Publication: I Thought You Would Be Funnier, by Shannon Wheeler
  • Best Anthology: Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard, edited by Paul Morrissey and David Petersen
  • Best Digital Comic: Abominable Charles Christopher, by Karl Kerschl
  • Best Reality-Based Work: It Was the War of the Trenches, by Jacques Tardi
  • Best Graphic Album-New: Return of the Dapper Men, by Jim McCann and Janet Lee
  • Best Graphic Album-Reprint: Wednesday Comics, edited by Mark Chiarello
  • Best Adaptation from Another Work:The Marvelous Land of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, adapted by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips: Archie: The Complete Daily Newspaper Strips, 1946–1948, by Bob Montana, edited by Greg Goldstein
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Comic Books: Dave Stevens’ The Rocketeer Artist’s Edition, edited by Scott Dunbier
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: It Was the War of the Trenches, by Jacques Tardi
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material-Asia: Naoki Urasawa’s 20th Century Boys, by Naoki Urasawa
  • Best Writer: Joe Hill, Locke & Key
  • Best Writer/Artist: Darwyn Cooke, Richard Stark’s Parker: The Outfit
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:
  • Skottie Young, The Marvelous Land of Oz
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art): Juanjo Guarnido, Blacksad
  • Best Cover Artist: Mike Mignola, Hellboy, Baltimore: The Plague Ships
  • Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Hellboy, BPRD, Baltimore, Let Me In, Detective Comics, Neil Young’s Greendale, Daytripper, Joe the Barbarian
  • Best Lettering: Todd Klein, Fables, The Unwritten, Joe the Barbarian, iZombie, Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom, SHIELD, Driver for the Dead
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: ComicBookResources, produced by Jonah Weiland
  • Best Comics-Related Book: 75 Years of DC Comics: The Art of Modern Mythmaking, by Paul Levitz
  • Best Publication Design:
  • Dave Stevens’ The Rocketeer Artist’s Edition, designed by Randall Dahlk
  • Hall of Fame
    • Judges’ Choices: Ernie Bushmiller, Jack Jackson, Martin Nodell, Lynd Ward
    • Elected: Mort Drucker, Harvey Pekar, Roy Thomas, Marv Wolfman
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Nate Simpson
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Patrick McDonnell
  • Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Book Writing Award: Del Connell, Bob Haney
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Comics & Vegetables, Tel Aviv, Israel, Yuval Sharon & Danny Amitai

For more information…

Rhysling Awards Updated

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented annually for best SF poetry by the Science Fiction Poetry Association, were announced at Readercon on July 16 following the seventh annual Rhysling
Award Poetry Slam. Shortly after the awards were announced, it was discovered that the winning poem in the short poem category was ineligible due to prior publication. The corrected winners are below.

  • Long Poem: “The Sea King’s Second Bride,” by C. S. E. Cooney
  • Short Poem: “Peach-Creamed Honey,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • Lifetime Achievement: Jane Yolen

For more information…

Ajan Polut Winners

The Ajan polut competition for alternate history announced a three-way tie for first place at Finncon on July 17. Each winner received a cash prize of €200.

  • Jotta taidat suomen kielen” (“So You’ll Know the Finnish Language”), by Jussi Katajala
  • Presidentin elokuut” (“The President’s Autumns”), by Jussi Katajala
  • Uusi maailma” (“A New World”), by Anne-Mari Halonen

For more information… (Finnish)

Phoenix Pick Project

Phoenix Pick, an imprint of Arc Manor, is planning on producing a series of six books which pair an established science fiction/fantasy writer with a new writer. Each book will consist of two stories which may be set in the same universe or complement the other in some other manner. The project is being edited by Mike Resnick. Kevin J. Anderson and Mercedes Lackey have both signed on to participate.

For more information…

Shuttle Lands, Ending Era

The space shuttle Atlantis landed this morning at 5:57:00, completing both STS-135 and the shuttle program. The first shuttle, Columbia was launched in April 1981. Over the intervening thirty years, two shuttles and their crews were lost in flight, five shuttles flew in total, and the crafts traveled a total of 548,049,445 miles. The landing of Atlantis marks the first time in 30 years that the United States has not had the capacity to put humans into space. Atlantis will spend its retirement on display at the Kennedy Space Center.

For more information…

Pluto + 4

Scientists have announced the discovery of a fourth moon in orbit around Pluto. Pluto’s first discovered moon, Charon, was found in 1978. Two more moons, Nyx and Hydra, were identified in 2005. The new moon, which is currently called P4, is believed to be between 13 and 34 km in diameter and orbits Pluto every 32 days at a distance of about 59,000 km, between the orbits of Nyx and Hydra.

For more information…

WOOF Call for ‘Zines

Seattle fan Randy Byers has been announced as the editor of this year’s WOOF, (World Organization Of Faneditors). Any fanzine editors (including rookies) who would like to contribute ‘zines for inclusion, should contact Randy and give him a title and page count for the table of contents. As Renovation is the 69th Worldcon, each editor should supply 69 copies.

For more information…

Mythopoeic Award Winners

The winners of the 2011 Mythopoeic Society Awards were announced on July 17 at Mythcon XLII in Albuquerque.

  • Fantasy Awards, Adult Literature: Redemption in Indigo, by Karen Lord
  • Fantasy Awards, Children’s Literature: The Queen’s Thief series, consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, by Megan Whalen Turner
  • Scholarship Awards, Inklings Studies: Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, by Michael Ward
  • Scholarship Awards, Myth and Fantasy Studies: The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, by Caroline Sumpter

    For more information…

Rowling Plagiarism Case Dismissed

The courts dismissed a charge of plagiarism against J.K. Rowling by the estate of Adrian Jacobs after the estate failed to post a £1.5 million security bond. Jacobs’s executor, Paul Allen, first charged Rowling with plagiarizing Jacobs’s book The Adventures of Willy the Wizard in 2004. The court had ordered the estate to post a bond to cover 65% of the costs faced by Rowling and her publisher, Bloomsbury, in case the estate did not prevail. The estate’s inability to post the bond eventually ended the case.

For more information…

Borders Closing the Books

Borders, which has been suffering from financial set backs and earlier declared bankruptcy, failed to find a buyer. Store closings may begin as early as July 22 and will ultimately affect 10,700 employees as the last 399 Borders close. The Kobo E-reader, in which Borders had a stake, will continue to be sold and supported by Kobo. Borders plans to ask the court to appoint liquidation firms to conduct going-out-of business sales at its remaining locations.

For more information…