Hugo Winners Announced

The Hugo Awards were presented on August 20 at Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis
  • Best Novella: The Lifecycle of Software Objects, by Ted Chiang
  • Best Novelette: “The Emperor of Mars,” by Allen M. Steele
  • Best Short Story: “For Want of a Nail,” by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Best Related Work: Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who
    Love It
    , edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea

  • Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse,
    written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright

  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens”/”The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes
  • Best Editor Short Form: Sheila Williams
  • Best Editor Long Form: Lou Anders
  • Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan
  • Best Semi Prozine: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker
  • Best Fanzine: The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
  • Best Fan Writer: Claire Brialey
  • Best Fan artist: Brad W. Foster
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Lev Grossman

For more information…