BSFA Nominations

The British Science Fiction Awards nominees have been announced. The awards will be presented at Eastercon in April.

Best Novel

  • Cyber Circus, by Kim Lakin-Smith
  • Embassytown, by China Miéville
  • The Islanders, by Christopher Priest
  • By Light Alone, by Adam Roberts
  • Osama, by Lavie Tidhar

Best Short Fiction

  • “The Silver Wind,” by Nina Allan
  • “The Copenhagen Interpretation,” by Paul Cornell
  • “Afterbirth,” by Kameron Hurley
  • “Covehithe,” by China Miéville
  • “Of Dawn,” by Al Robertson

Best Non-Fiction

  • Out of This World: Science Fiction But Not as We Know It, by Mike Ashley
  • The SF Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition, edited by John Clute, Peter Nicholls, & David Langford
  • Review of Arslan, by M.J. Engh & Abigail Nussbaum
  • SF Mistressworks, edited by Ian Sales
  • Pornokitsch, edited by Jared Shurin & Anne Perry,
  • The Unsilent Library: Essays on the Russell T. Davies Era of the New Doctor Who, by Graham Sleight, Tony Keen, & Simon Bradshaw

Best Art

  • cover for The Noise Revealed, by Dominic Harman
  • cover for A Monster Calls, by Jim Kay
  • cover for Osama, by Pedro Marques
  • cover for A Glass of Shadow, by Anne Sudworth

For more information…

Crawford Winner Announced

Genevieve Valentine’s debut novel Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti has been announced as the winner of the William L. Crawford Award. The Crawford Award is presented annually for a new fantasy author whose first book appeared during the previous year. It is presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, which will be held this year from March 21-25 in Orlando, Florida.

For more information…