Penumbra Adopts Some Realms of Fantasy Subscribers

Musa Publishing has announced that they will assume the electronic subscription obligations of Realms of Fantasy with issues of their new digital magazine of speculative fiction, Penumbra. Penumbra is offering print subscribers our November, December and January issues immediately as well as our February issue for free. Print subscribers need to contact Penumbra in order to get put on our mailing list for those issues. In addition, Space and Time will provide copies of their magazine to print Realms of Fantasy subscribers.

For more information…
And even more information…

Duane Hit By Scammers

Author Diane Duane, who wrote the “Young Wizards” series, numerous Star Trek novels, and has recently been publishing the “Omnitopia” series discovered that scammers have managed to get into her bank account, leaving her with a balance of nothing. Although the bank will eventually be able to restore his account, until that time, she is having a cash flow problem for bills and is asking people to visit her on-line store, offering a 20% discount, as well.

For more information…

Alpha Auction

The Alpha Young Writers Workshop is holding an auction to raise money for its scholarship fund. The auction, which will begin on Friday, January 13, includes titles by George R.R. Martin, Elizabeth Bear, Patrick Rothfuss, Cory Doctorow, Catherine Asaro, and critiques by Theodora Goss, Bruce Holland Rogers, Leslie What, and more.

For more information…

Ursa Major Nominations Open

Nominations are open for the Ursa Major Awards, presented to recognize the best works published in the field of anthropomorphics in 2011. Fans may nominate up to five works in each category until the nomination deadline of February 29. Voting will run from March 15-May 4 with the awards presented at CaliFur VIII in Irvine, CA the weekend of June 1 – 3, 2012.

Fur more information…

People’s Choice Awards

Genre shows and films, as well as actors who often appear in genre works, were very successful at the People’s Choice Awards on January 11. Below is a listing of winners of genre interest.

  • Favorite Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • Favorite Movie Actor: Johnny Depp
  • Favorite Movie Icon: Morgan Freeman
  • Favorite Action Film: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • Favorite Action Movie Star: Hugh Jackman
  • Favorite Movie Stars Under Age 25: Chloe Moretz
  • Favorite Ensemble Movie Cast: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • Favorite Animated Movie Voice: Johnny Depp as Rango in Rango
  • Favorite Movie Superhero: Ryan Reynolds as Green Lantern
  • Favorite Book Adaptation: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • Favorite Network TV Drama: Supernatural
  • Favorite Network TV Drama Actor: Nathan Fillion
  • Favorite Network TV Drama Actress: Nina Dobrev
  • Favorite TV Comedy Actor: Neil Patrick Harris
  • Favorite SF/Fantasy Show: Supernatural

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Judges Names

The judges for this year’s World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The World Fantasy Awards are presented at World Fantasy Con on November 4 in Toronto, Canada. This year’s judges include John Berlyne, James P. Blaylock, Stephen Gallagher, Mary Kay Kare, and Jacques Post.

For more information…

New Magazine Launched by MIT

Technology Review, MIT’s science magazine for consumers, has announced the launch of a fiction magazine, TRSF. The magazine will have stories with ties to the parent magazine and will include works by authors including Joe Haldeman, Pat Cadigan, Vandana Singh, Ma Boyong, Gwyneth Jones, and Cory Doctorow. It is edited by Stephen Cass.

For more information…

Obituary: Israel Baker

Violinist Israel Baker (b.1919) died on December 25. Baker performed on the soundtracks of many films, including Raiders of the Lost Ark, but his most famous performance in a genre film was when he served as first violinist (and concertmaster) for the orchestra on Psycho.

Philip K. Dick Nominees

The nominees for the Philip K. Dick Award, presented annually for best paperback original book by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust, have been announced. The winner will be announced on Friday, April 6 at Norwescon 35 in Seatac, WA.

  • A Soldier’s Duty, by Jean Johnson
  • After the Apocalypse, by Maureen F. McHugh
  • Deadline, by Mira Grant
  • The Company Man, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Other, by Matthew Hughes
  • The Postmortal, by Drew Magary
  • The Samuil Petrovitch Trilogy, by Simon Morden

For more information…

Gene Wolfe Honored

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame will be presenting Gene Wolfe with the first Fuller Award for lifetime achievement in literature on March 17 at an Evening to Honor Gene Wolfe. The event will take place at the Sanfilippo Estate in Barrington Hills, IL and will be hosted by Gary K. Wolfe. Authors scheduled to pay tribute to Wolfe include Neil Gaiman, Luis Urrea, Michael Swanwick, Audrey Niffenegger, Jody Lynn Nye, and Patrick O’Leary with a performance of an adaptation of Wolfe’s story “The Toy Theatre” by Lawrence Santoro. Tickets begin at $65.

For more information…