SFX Awards

SFX announced the winners of the SFX Awards at the SFX Weekender 3 on February 4. The awards are a mix of reader voted awards and awards given by a jury. The Elisabeth Sladen Award is a new category which was added in memory of Elisabeth Sladen. It will be given for contributions to children’s sf/f in any media.

Reader-Voted Awards

  • Best Film: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2
  • Best Director: Matthew Vaughn for X-Men: First Class
  • Best Comic: The Walking Dead
  • Best Novel: A Dance with Dragons, by George R. R. Martin
  • Best TV Show: Doctor Who
  • Best New Show: Game of Thrones
  • Best Actor: Matt Smith for Doctor Who
  • Best Actress: Alex Kingston for Doctor Who
  • Biggest Disappointment: No cameo for Stan Lee in X-Men: First Class

SFX Team Choice Awards

  • Outstanding Literary Contribution: Brian W. Aldiss
  • Screenwriting Excellence: Neil Gaiman for Doctor Who “The Doctor’s Wife”
  • Breakout: Joe Gilgun for Misfits
  • Living Legend: Brian Blessed
  • Elisabeth Sladen Award: The Sarah Jane Adventures
  • Lifetime Achievement: John Wagner & Carlos Ezquerra
  • Hope for the Future: Dirk Gently
  • Phenomenon: Merlin

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.