DUFF Seeks Candidates

The Down Under Fan Fund (DUFF) is looking for candidates for this year’s race to travel from North America to Australia to attend Continuum VIII in Melbourne from June 8-11, 2012. Candidates should contact either David Cake or John Hertz and have three North American nominators and two Australia/New Zealand nominators. Each candidate should also have a 100 word statement and be able to put up a $25 bond. The deadline for declaring candidacies is May 11. Send paper mail to John Hertz at 236 S. Coronado St., No. 409, Los Angeles, CA 90057, U.S.A. or Dave Cake at dave@difference.com.au.

Rios Joins Strange Horizons

Niall Harrison has announced that Julia Rios will be joining Strange Horizons and Senior Fiction Editor Jed Hartman in their fiction department. Rios has worked with Outer Alliance and with Broad Universe to promote the work of queer and women writers of speculative fiction.

For more information…

Obituary: Joel Goldsmith

Composer Joel Goldsmith (b.1957) died on April 29. Goldsmith composed the music for all of the different versions of Stargate on television. He also composed for the films Kull the Conqueror, Laserblast, and other television shows and movies. He also worked with his father, Jerry Goldsmith, on music for Star Trek: First Contact.

Van Vogt Award Created

The Winnipeg Science Fiction Association (WINSFA) has announced the creation of the A. E. van Vogt Award, in honor of the Canadian author The award will spotlight the best in Canadian Science Fiction Writing over the past years. The first A. E. van Vogt Award will be presented in Winnipeg in Fall of 2012.

Obituary: Kristiina Kolehmainen

Swedish librarian Kristiina Kolehmainen (b.1953) died on March 27. Kolehmainen founded the Serieteket, the comics library housed within Stockholm’s Kulturhuset. Since 1998, Kolehmainen also served as director of the Stockholm International Comics Festival/Small Press Expo, helping to build the event.

Ireland Takes Eurocon 2014

Ireland beat out Romania to host Eurocon in 2014 by a vote tally of 61-16. The Irish committee, heaqded by James Shields, has selected the weekend following the likely 2014 London Worldcon for the convention, hoping to attract fans in the United Kingdom to come over to Ireland and lengthen their fannish vacation. Shamrokon will take place the weekend of August 22 at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin. Guests of Honor will include Seanan McGuire and Jim Fitzpatrick.

Ditmar Nominations

The Nominations for the 2012 Ditmar Awards, presented for excellence in Australian science fiction, have been announced. This year’s ceremony will take place at Continuum 8 the weekend of June 8-11 in Melbourne, Australia.

Best Novel

  • The Shattered City, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Burn Bright, by Marianne de Pierres
  • Mistification, by Kaaron Warren
  • The Courier’s New Bicycle, by Kim Westwood
  • Debris, by Jo Anderton

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Sleeping and the Dead,” by Cat Sparks
  • “Above,” by Stephanie Campisi
  • “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt,” by Paul Haines
  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living,” by Deborah Biancotti
  • “Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Below,” by Ben Peek

Best Short Story

  • “Breaking the Ice,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • “Alchemy,” by Lucy Sussex
  • “The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker,” by Martin Livings and Talie Helene
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe,” by Kaaron Warren
  • “Bad Power,” by Deborah Biancotti
  • “The Patrician,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Collected Work

  • The Last Days of Kali Yuga, by Paul Haines, edited by Angela Challis
  • Nightsiders, by Sue Isle, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Bad Power, by Deborah Biancotti, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Love and Romanpunk, by Tansy Rayner Roberts, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Ishtar, edited by Amanda Pillar and K. V. Taylor

Best Artwork

  • “Finishing School,” by Kathleen Jennings
  • Cover art for The Freedom Maze, by Kathleen Jennings

Best Fan Writer

  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus! and Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus!, Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth, and Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Robin Pen, for “The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar”
  • Sean Wright, for body of work including “Authors and Social Media” series in Adventures of a Bookonaut
  • Bruce Gillespie, for body of work including “The Golden Age of Fanzines is Now,” and SF Commentary 81 & 82

Best Fan Artist

  • Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
  • Lisa Rye, for “Steampunk Portal” series
  • Dick Jenssen, for body of work including work in IRS, Steam Engine Time, SF Commentary, and Scratchpad
  • Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry including “The Dalek Game”
  • Rhianna Williams, for work in Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Chat, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Sean Wright
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce

Best New Talent

  • Steve Cameron
  • Alan Baxter
  • Joanne Anderton

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene, for “2010: The Year in Review,” in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010
  • Damien Broderick and Van Ikin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature
  • David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely for “Reviewing New Who” series, in A Conversational Life
  • Alexandra Pierce and Tehani Wessely, for reviews of Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Russell Blackford, for “Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke,” in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club

For more information…

Obituary: Ernest Callenbach

Author and activist Ernest “Chick” Challenbach (b.1929) died on April 16. Callenbach wrote the futuristic novel Ecotopia in 1975, which laid out a design for more ecologically friendly living and helped spur the modern green movement. Originally self-published, and described as half-novel, half-tract by the author, it eventually was reprinted by Bantam and translated into a dozen languages.

Dueling Adjustment Bureau Lawsuits

The Philip K. Dick Trust has refiled a lawsuit against George Nolfi and Media Rights Capital, claiming breach of contract and other causes of action based on the film The Adjustment Bureau, which is an adaptation of Dick’s story “The Adjustment Team.” Nolfi and MRC have counterfiled seeking a declaration of right to the story, claiming that the story was in public domain at the time the film was made and no payments to the estate are required.

For more information…

First Fandom Nominees

Members of First Fandom have until June 1 to vote on the inductees into the Hall of Fame. First Fandom was founded in 1959 to connect those who had been in fandom prior to 1938. Its membership has since expanded with various classes of member. The Sam Moskowitz Award is presented for excellence in science fiction collecting. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7.

First Fandom Hall of Fame Award

  • Ray Bradbury
  • Larry Farsace
  • Claude Held
  • Jack Robins

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Award

  • Rusty Hevelin

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • Donn Albright

For more information…