Ditmar Nominations

The Nominations for the 2012 Ditmar Awards, presented for excellence in Australian science fiction, have been announced. This year’s ceremony will take place at Continuum 8 the weekend of June 8-11 in Melbourne, Australia.

Best Novel

  • The Shattered City, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Burn Bright, by Marianne de Pierres
  • Mistification, by Kaaron Warren
  • The Courier’s New Bicycle, by Kim Westwood
  • Debris, by Jo Anderton

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Sleeping and the Dead,” by Cat Sparks
  • “Above,” by Stephanie Campisi
  • “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt,” by Paul Haines
  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living,” by Deborah Biancotti
  • “Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Below,” by Ben Peek

Best Short Story

  • “Breaking the Ice,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • “Alchemy,” by Lucy Sussex
  • “The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker,” by Martin Livings and Talie Helene
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe,” by Kaaron Warren
  • “Bad Power,” by Deborah Biancotti
  • “The Patrician,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Collected Work

  • The Last Days of Kali Yuga, by Paul Haines, edited by Angela Challis
  • Nightsiders, by Sue Isle, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Bad Power, by Deborah Biancotti, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Love and Romanpunk, by Tansy Rayner Roberts, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Ishtar, edited by Amanda Pillar and K. V. Taylor

Best Artwork

  • “Finishing School,” by Kathleen Jennings
  • Cover art for The Freedom Maze, by Kathleen Jennings

Best Fan Writer

  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus! and Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus!, Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth, and Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Robin Pen, for “The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar”
  • Sean Wright, for body of work including “Authors and Social Media” series in Adventures of a Bookonaut
  • Bruce Gillespie, for body of work including “The Golden Age of Fanzines is Now,” and SF Commentary 81 & 82

Best Fan Artist

  • Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
  • Lisa Rye, for “Steampunk Portal” series
  • Dick Jenssen, for body of work including work in IRS, Steam Engine Time, SF Commentary, and Scratchpad
  • Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry including “The Dalek Game”
  • Rhianna Williams, for work in Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Chat, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Sean Wright
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce

Best New Talent

  • Steve Cameron
  • Alan Baxter
  • Joanne Anderton

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene, for “2010: The Year in Review,” in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010
  • Damien Broderick and Van Ikin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature
  • David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely for “Reviewing New Who” series, in A Conversational Life
  • Alexandra Pierce and Tehani Wessely, for reviews of Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Russell Blackford, for “Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke,” in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club

For more information…