Obituary: J. Michael Riva

Production designer J. Michael Riva (b.1948) died on June 7 in New Orleans. Riva was responsible for the look of numerous films, including genre works Zathura, the Iron Man franchise, The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension, and the upcoming The Amazing Spider-Man. Riva was also the grandson of actress Marlene Dietrich.

Jim Young in Hospital

Minneapolis fan and author Jim Young has been admitted to hospital and diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor. Young entered hospital on June 5 and underwent emergency surgery. According to his doctors, he is currently in a life threatening situation. Young wrote the novels The Face of the Deep and Armed Memory, as well as an handful of short stories.

For more information…

Scribe Award Nominations

The nominees for the Scribe Award, presented by the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers for excellence in tie-in literature, have been announced. The winners will be announced at Comic Con International in San Diego in July.

General Original

  • Mike Hammer: Kiss Her Goodbye, by Max Allan Collins and Mickey Spillane
  • Burn Notice: The Bad Beat, by Tod Goldberg
  • Royal Pains: First Do No Harm, D.P. Lyle

Speculative Original

  • Pirates of the Caribbean: The Price of Freedom, by A. C. Crispin
  • Forgotten Realms: Brimstone Angels, by Erin M. Evans
  • Supernatural: Coyote’s Kiss, by Christa Faust
  • Star Wars: Knight Errant, by John Jackson Miller
  • Eberron Unlimited: The Shard Axe, by Marsheila Rockwell

Best Adaptation

  • Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon, by Peter David
  • Conan the Barbarian, by Michael Stackpole
  • Cowboys and Aliens, by Joan D. Vinge
  • Crysis: Legion, by Peter Watts

Best Young Adult

  • The Smurfs, by Stacia Deutsch & Rhody Cohon
  • Me & My Monsters: Monster Manners, by Rory Growler
  • Thunderbirds: Extreme Hazard, by Joan Marie Verba

Grandmaster: Kevin J. Anderson

For more information…

Obituary: Robert L. Washington III

Comic author Robert L. Washington III (b.1964) died of an heart attack on June 6. Washington is best known for his work on the original run of Static from DC Comics in 1993. He went on to write Shadow Cabinet, Extreme Justice, The Good Guys, and Ninjak. Washington had fallen on hard times recently and been helped by the Hero Initiative, for which he wrote an autobiographical comic for Hero Comics 2012.

Obituary: Ray Bradbury

Author Ray Bradbury (b.1920) died on June 5. Bradbury was one of the major science fiction authors whose name was known beyond the field, along with Asimov, Clarke, and Heinlein. His notable works including Fahrenheit 451, about censorship and book burning, and the collected stories that made up The Martian Chronicles. He is also the author of Dandelion Wine, Something Wicked This Way Comes, and many short stories. Bradbury has also written for film, most notably the screenplay for Moby Dick, and SFWA has named its screenplay award, The Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, in his honor. Bradbury has received the National Medal of Arts, World Fantasy Award Life Achievement Award, Stoker Award Life Achievement Award, SFWA Grand Master, SF Hall of Fame Living Inductee, and First Fandom Award.

Powers Show in Natick

A showing of art by Richard Powers is taking place at Baldwin Hill Art & Framing in Natick, MA through June 30. Richard Powers: Public & Private includes not only his commissioned work, but also his more personal work, often signed Gorman Powers. The display includes abstracts, landscapes, and portraits and many of the pieces are for sale, as are prints.

For more information…

Pegasus Nominations Open

The form to nominate for this year’s Pegasus Awards for filk is now on-line. Nominations close on July 25. People can nominate up to five works/people in five categories. The winners will be announced at Ohio Valley Filk Fest.

To nominate, or for more information…

For the results of the brainstorming poll…

Lambda Award Winner

The winners of the Lambda Awards, given for GBLT literature, were announced in New York on June 4. Awards were presented in twenty-four categories, including LGBT SF/Fantasy/Horror, which was won by The German, by Lee Thomas.

For more information…

Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Award

Sir Terry Pratchett received the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse for his novel Snuff. The Wodehouse Award is presented to a novel which “summons up the spirit”of British author P. G. Wodehouse. The prize consists of a Gloucestershire Spotted Pig named after the winning novel.

For more information…

MTV Movie Award Winners

The MTV Movie Award winners were announced on June 3. Winners of genre interest are listed below, with a complete list of winners at the link.

  • Movie of the Year: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn—Part 1
  • Best Hero: Harry Potter (played by Daniel Radcliffe) in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • Best Kiss: Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson in The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn—Part 1
  • Best Female Performance: Jennifer Lawrence in The Hunger Games
  • Best Male Performance: Josh Hutcherson in The Hunger Games
  • Best On-Screen Transformation: Elizabeth Banks in The Hunger Games
  • Best Fight: Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson vs. Alexander Ludwig in The Hunger Games
  • Best Cast: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint, and Tom Felton in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
  • MTV Trailblazer Award: Emma Stone
  • MTV Generation Award: Johnny Depp

For more information…