Cordwainer Smith Winner

The winner of the 2012 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award was announced at Readercon. The award seeks to recognize and draw attention to lesser-known fantasy or science fiction authors. This year’s award went to Fredric Brown, perhaps best known for writing What Mad Universe and Martians Go Home. Brown was also well known for his short stories. Most of Brown’s science fiction novels and short fiction have been collected in books published by NESFA Press. He also had a large body of mystery work published.

For more information…

1 Comment

  1. Dave Locke — July 16, 2012 @ 2:10 pm

    I’m actually astonished, or perhaps the word is gobsmacked, that Fredric Brown would win an award aimed at “lesser-known fantasy or science fiction authors”. Will writers like Eric Frank Russell and Wilson Tucker qualify in a few more years based on how long it’s been since the judges began reading reprints by these authors? I guess if the word “rediscovery” weren’t qualified by “lesser-known”, I’d think that Fred Brown’s works were an excellent choice. All right, I’ll be more positive and reinterpretive about this and say that picking one of many SF and mystery fan’s favorite authors as someone worth drawing attention to was an excellent idea…

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.