Eisner Award Winners

The Eisner Awards were announced at Comic Con San Diego on July 13. Below are the winners.

  • Best Short Story: “The Seventh,” by Darwyn Cooke
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Daredevil #7, by Mark Waid, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera
  • Best Continuing Series: Daredevil, by Mark Waid, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera
  • Best Limited Series: Criminal: The Last of the Innocent, Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (Up to 7): Dragon Puncher Island, by James Kochalka
  • Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-11): Snarked, by Roger Langridge
  • Best Publication for Young Adults (Ages 12-17): Smile, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Best Humor Publication: Milk & Cheese: Dairy Products Gone Bad, by Evan Dorkin
  • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson
  • Best Digital Comic: Battlepug, by Mike Norton
  • Best Reality-Based Work: Green River Killer: A True Detective Story, by Jeff Jensen and Jonathan Case
  • Best Graphic Album-New: Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand, adapted by Ramón K. Pérez
  • Best Graphic Album-Reprint: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Martini Edition, edited by Darwyn Cooke
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips: Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse, vols. 1-2, by Floyd Gottfredson, edited by David Gerstein and Gary Groth
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Comic Books: Walt Simonson’s The Mighty Thor Artist’s Edition
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Manara Library, vol. 1: Indian Summer and Other Stories, by Milo Manara with Hugo Pratt
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material-Asia: Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths, by Shigeru Mizuki
  • Best Writer: Mark Waid, Irredeemable, Incorruptible
  • Best Writer/Artist: Craig Thompson, Habibi
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:
  • Ramón K. Pérez, Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand
  • Best Cover Artist: Francesco Francavilla, Black Panther, Lone Ranger, Lone Ranger/Zorro, Dark Shadows, Warlord of Mars, Archie Meets KISS
  • Best Coloring: Laura Allred, iZombie, Madman All-New Giant-Size Super-Ginchy Special
  • Best Lettering: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon
  • Best Educational/Academic Work (tie): Cartooning: Philosophy & Practice, by Ivan Brunetti; Hand of Fire: The Comics Art of Jack Kirby, by Charles Hatfield
  • Best Comics-Related Book: MetaMaus, by Art Spiegelman
  • Best Publication Design:
  • Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand, designed by Eric Skillman
  • Hall of Fame
    • Judges’ Choices: Rudolf Dirks, Harry Lucey
    • Elected: Bill Blackbeard, Richard Corben, Katsuhiro Otomo, Gilbert Shelton
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Tyler Crook
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Morrie Turner
  • Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Book Writing Award: Frank Doyle, Steve Skeates
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Akira Comics, Madrid, Spain – Jesus Marugan Escobar and The Dragon, Guelph, ON, Canada – Jennifer Haines

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.