Obituary: Morgan Paull

Actor Morgan Paul (b.1944) died on July 17. Paul appeared in episodes of Beyond Westworld, The Fantastic Journey, and Challenge of the GoBots. His most notable genre roles were in The Swarm and as Holden in Blade Runner.

Obituary: William Asher

Producer William Asher (b.1921) died on July 16. Asher produced Bewitched from 1964-1972 as well as the pilot to its spin-off Tabitha, in 1976. In addition to production, Asher directed several television shows, including episodes of Bewitched, for which he won an Emmy, The Twilight Zone, and I Dream of Jeannie: 15 Years Later. In the 1960s, he directed several Annette Funnicello films, including Beach Blanket Bingo and How to Stuff a Wild Bikini. From 1963-1967, Asher was married to Elizabeth Montgomery, who starred in his show Bewitched.

Rhysling Winners

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented for speculative poetry by the SFPA, were announced at Readercon.

  • Short Poem: “The Library, After,” by Shira Lipkin
  • Long Poem: “The Curator Speaks in the Department of Dead Languages,” by Megan Arkenberg

For more information…

Scribe Winners

The Scribe Awards, presented for excellence in tie-in novels, were announced at Comic Con. The award is given by the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers. The Grandmaster Award winner was announced prior to Comic Con.

  • Grandmaster: Kevin J. Anderson
  • Speculative Fiction Best Original Novel: Dungeons and Dragons-Forgotten Realms: Brimstone Angels, by Erin M. Evans
  • General Fiction Best Original Novel: Mike Hammer: Kiss Her Goodbye, by Max Allan Collins & Mickey Spillane
  • Best Adaptation: Cowboys and Aliens, by Joan D. Vinge
  • Best Young Adult:Thunderbirds: Extreme Hazard, by Joan Marie Verba
  • Best Audio: Mike Hammer: Encore for Murder, by Max Allan Collins & Mickey Spillane

For more information…

Prometheus Award Winners

The winners of the Prometheus Award, given for libertarian science fiction, were announced on July 13. The awards will be presented at Chicon 7, this year’s worldcon, in Chicago the weekend of August 30-September 3.

  • Best Novel: (tie) Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline; The Freedom Maze, by Delia Sherman
  • Hall of Fame Award: “The Machine Stops,” by E.M. Forster (1909)

For more information…

Shirley Jackson Awards

The winners of the 2011 Shirley Jackson Awards, given for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic, were presented at Readercon on July 15.

  • Novel: Witches on the Road Tonight, by Sheri Holman
  • Novella: “Near Zennor,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • Novelette: “The Summer People,”by Kelly Link
  • Short Fiction: “The Corpse Painter’s Masterpiece,” by M. Rickert
  • Single-Author Collection: After the Apocalypse: Stories, by Maureen F. McHugh
  • Edited Anthology: Ghosts by Gaslight, edited by Jack Dann and Nick Gevers

For more information…

Eisner Award Winners

The Eisner Awards were announced at Comic Con San Diego on July 13. Below are the winners.

  • Best Short Story: “The Seventh,” by Darwyn Cooke
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Daredevil #7, by Mark Waid, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera
  • Best Continuing Series: Daredevil, by Mark Waid, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera
  • Best Limited Series: Criminal: The Last of the Innocent, Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (Up to 7): Dragon Puncher Island, by James Kochalka
  • Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-11): Snarked, by Roger Langridge
  • Best Publication for Young Adults (Ages 12-17): Smile, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Best Humor Publication: Milk & Cheese: Dairy Products Gone Bad, by Evan Dorkin
  • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson
  • Best Digital Comic: Battlepug, by Mike Norton
  • Best Reality-Based Work: Green River Killer: A True Detective Story, by Jeff Jensen and Jonathan Case
  • Best Graphic Album-New: Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand, adapted by Ramón K. Pérez
  • Best Graphic Album-Reprint: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Martini Edition, edited by Darwyn Cooke
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips: Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse, vols. 1-2, by Floyd Gottfredson, edited by David Gerstein and Gary Groth
  • Best Archival Collection/Project-Comic Books: Walt Simonson’s The Mighty Thor Artist’s Edition
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Manara Library, vol. 1: Indian Summer and Other Stories, by Milo Manara with Hugo Pratt
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material-Asia: Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths, by Shigeru Mizuki
  • Best Writer: Mark Waid, Irredeemable, Incorruptible
  • Best Writer/Artist: Craig Thompson, Habibi
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:
  • Ramón K. Pérez, Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand
  • Best Cover Artist: Francesco Francavilla, Black Panther, Lone Ranger, Lone Ranger/Zorro, Dark Shadows, Warlord of Mars, Archie Meets KISS
  • Best Coloring: Laura Allred, iZombie, Madman All-New Giant-Size Super-Ginchy Special
  • Best Lettering: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon
  • Best Educational/Academic Work (tie): Cartooning: Philosophy & Practice, by Ivan Brunetti; Hand of Fire: The Comics Art of Jack Kirby, by Charles Hatfield
  • Best Comics-Related Book: MetaMaus, by Art Spiegelman
  • Best Publication Design:
  • Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand, designed by Eric Skillman
  • Hall of Fame
    • Judges’ Choices: Rudolf Dirks, Harry Lucey
    • Elected: Bill Blackbeard, Richard Corben, Katsuhiro Otomo, Gilbert Shelton
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Tyler Crook
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Morrie Turner
  • Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Book Writing Award: Frank Doyle, Steve Skeates
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Akira Comics, Madrid, Spain – Jesus Marugan Escobar and The Dragon, Guelph, ON, Canada – Jennifer Haines

For more information…

Cordwainer Smith Winner

The winner of the 2012 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award was announced at Readercon. The award seeks to recognize and draw attention to lesser-known fantasy or science fiction authors. This year’s award went to Fredric Brown, perhaps best known for writing What Mad Universe and Martians Go Home. Brown was also well known for his short stories. Most of Brown’s science fiction novels and short fiction have been collected in books published by NESFA Press. He also had a large body of mystery work published.

For more information…

Obituary: Celeste Holm

Actress Celeste Holm (b.1917) died on July 15. She began appearing in films in 1946 and received an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress in 1947 for her role in Gentleman’s Agreement. She appeared in multiple epsiodes of Fantasy Island and Touched by an Angel, as well as an episode of The New Adventures of Wonder Woman.

Obituary: Don Brinkley

Screenwriter Don Brinkley (b.1921) died on July 14. While Brinkley wrote for Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea and The Invaders, he was best known for his non-genre work such as Trapper John, M.D. and Medical Center. He is the stepfather of model Christie Brinkley.