World Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominations for the World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented at a banquet at World Fantasy Con, scheduled to be held in Toronto, Canada on November 4.


  • Those Across the River, by Christopher Buehlman
  • 11/22/63, by Stephen King
  • A Dance with Dragons, by George R.R. Martin
  • Osama, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Among Others, by Jo Walton


  • “Near Zennor,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” by K.J. Parker
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” by Robert Shearman
  • “Rose Street Attractors,” by Lucius Shepard
  • Silently and Very Fast, by Catherynne M. Valente

Short Story:

  • “X for Demetrious,” by Steve Duffy
  • “Younger Women,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu
  • “A Journey of Only Two Paces,” by Tim Powers
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” by E. Lily Yu


  • Blood and Other Cravings, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • The Weird, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • Gutshot, edited by Conrad Williams


  • Bluegrass Symphony, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Two Worlds and In Between, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • After the Apocalypse, by Maureen F. McHugh
  • Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, by Reggie Oliver
  • The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, by Tim Powers


  • John Coulthart
  • Julie Dillon
  • Jon Foster
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • John Picacio

Special Award Professional:

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
  • Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
  • Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
  • Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

Lifetime Achievement winners:

  • Alan Garner
  • George R.R. Martin

For more information…