Hartman Wins Morris Award

The American Library Association has announced that Rachel Hartman won the William C. Morris Award for best debut fiction for her novel Seraphina. The William C. Morris YA Debut Award was first awarded in 2009 and honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

For more information…

Pierce Wins Edwards Award

The American Library Association announced that Tamara Pierce was the recipient of this year’s Margaret A. Edwards Award, presented for lifetime achievement in young adult literature. The Margaret A. Edwards Award was established in 1988 to honor an author for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

For more information…

Heinlein Award Winners

Allen Steele and Yoji Kondo have been announced as the recipients of 2013 Robert A Heinlein Award. The Heinlein Award is given to writers of science fiction and technical writers whose work inspires the exploration of space. The recipients are selected by a panel from the Heinlein Society and the award will be presented by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society at Balticon 47 on May 24. The winners will receive a plaque, a sterling silver medallion engraved with Heinlein’s likeness, and two lapel pins.

For more informaiton…

Lifeboat to the Stars Announced

The Lifeboat Foundation has announced the creation of the Lifeboat to the Stars award, presented to the best work of science fiction of any length published in 2011 or 2012 contributing to an understanding of the benefits, means, and difficulties of interstellar travel. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2013 Campbell Conference in Lawrence, KS the weekend of June 13-16. Robert J. Sawyer will serve as the coordinating judge and he will act in consultation with Greg Bear and several other science fiction authors and scientists. The winner will receive a $1,000 prize.

For more information about the Lifeboat Foundation…
For more information about the Campbell Conference…

Amazing Blog Goes Live

Steve Davidson has announced that the blog for Amazing Stories went live on January 21. The blog has gone live with a handful of articles written by just a few of the more than 50 authors Davidson has brought on-board, including posts by Monique Jacob, Keith West, and John M Whalen. Future posts will include works by Mike Brotherton, Michael A. Burstein, Paul Cook, Jane Frank, Barry Malzberg, Felicity Savage, Steven H Silver, Leah Zeldes, and many more.

For more information…

Batmobile Sold

The original Batmobile designed by George Barris for the 1966 television show Batman sold at auction on January 19 for $4.2 million. The car, which was built on the chassis of the Lincoln Futura concept car, has been in Barris’s possession since it was created, although there are other copies of the car that have been sold. The name of the purchaser has not been disclosed.

For more information…

Kitschies Shortlist

The Kraken Rum has announced the nominees for the 2012 Kitschies, presented for the most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre fiction. Winners will receive a cash prize, a trophy, and a bottle of Kraken Rum. The winners will be announced on February 26 at the Free Word Centre in London.

Red Tentacle (Novel)

  • The Folly of the World, by Jesse Bullington
  • A Face Like Glass, by Frances Hardinge
  • Angelmaker, by Nick Harkaway
  • Jack Glass, by Adam Roberts
  • The Method, by Juli Zeh

Golden Tentacle (Debut)

  • vN, by Madeline Ashby
  • The Panopticon, by Jenni Fagan
  • Seraphina, by Rachel Harman
  • Redemption in Indigo, by Karen Lord
  • The City’s Son, by Tom Pollock

Inky Tentacle (Cover art)

  • The Teleportation Accident, by Ned Beauman; illustrated by La Boca
  • The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket, by John Boyne; illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
  • Costume Not Included, by Matthew Hughes; illustration by Tom Gault
  • Flame Alphabet, by Ben Marcus; illustrated by Peter Mendelsund
  • A Boy and a Bear in a Boat, by Dave Shelton; illustration by Dave Shelton

For more information…

Obituary: Michael Winner

Director Michael Winner (b.1935) died on January 21. Winner I best known for his work on Death Wish and The Big Sleep, but he also directed the horror films Scream for Help, The Sentinal, and The Nightcomers. He was nominated for a Saturn Award for The Sentinal.

Obituary: Jacques Sadoul

French editor Jacques Sadoul (b.1934) died on January 18. Worked as an editor for Editions Opta and J’ai Iu, working to bring Anglophonic science fiction to France as well as publishing French authors. He founded the Prix Apollo and also published Histoire de la science fiction moderne in 1973.

Obituary: Lynn Willis

Game designer Lynn Willis died on January 18. Willis began working for Metagaming in 1976, when he published Godsfire. Over the next few years, he published games with Metagaming, Chaosium, and GDW. Over the years, he worked in developing Runequest, Call of Cthulhu, Stormbringer, Ringworld, and many other games. In 1986, he won an H.G. Wells Award for Best RPG Rules for his work on the Ghostbusters RPG published by West End Games. He was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease in 2008.