Obituary: Malachi Throne

Actor Malachi Throne (b.1928) died on March 13. Throne portrayed Senator Pardek on Star Trek: The Next Generation, False Face on Batman, Commodore José Mendez and The Keeper on Star Trek, various roles on Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, as well as The Six Million Dollar Man, Babylon 5, various animated Batman television series and the animated video Green Lantern: First Flight. Throne was offered the role of Dr. McCoy on Star Trek, but turned it down because he didn’t want to be cast as third banana to Shatner and Nimoy.

Changes at LoneStarCon 3

Randy Shepherd has announced that effective immediately he will be assuming the position of Chair for LoneStarCon 3, this year’s Worldcon. The previous co-chairs, Laura Domitz and Bill Parker, will assume the duties of vice chairs. The change is an effort to streamline the Worldcon’s organization as they enter into their final six months of pre-con planning. LoneStarCon 3, the 71st World Science Fiction Convention, is scheduled to take place in San Antonio, TX from August 29-September 3.

For more information…

Lambda Award Nominations

The Lambda Literary Foundation has announced the finalists for this year’s Lambda Awards, given out for writing which celebrates achievement in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender. The winners will be announced on June 3 in New York. Categories with nominees of genre interest are listed below.

Transgender Fiction

  • Being Emily, by Rachel Gold
  • The Collection: Short Fiction From The Transgender Vanguard, Edited by Tom Léger and Riley MacLeod
  • Dialectic of the Flesh, by Roz Kaveney
  • First Spring Grass Fire, by Rae Spoon
  • Offspring, by Michael Quadland

LGBT Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

  • Beyond Binary: Genderqueer and Sexually Fluid Speculative Fiction, by Brit Mandelo
  • Chocolatiers of the High Winds: A Gay Steampunk Romance, by H.B. Kurtzwilde
  • Green Thumb, by Tom Cardamone
  • Heiresses of Russ 2012: the Year’s Best Lesbian Speculative Fiction, by Connie Wilkins and Steve Berman
  • In the Now, by Kelly Sinclair
  • Night Shadows: Queer Horror, edited by Greg Herren and J.M. Redmann
  • The Survivors, by Sean Eads

LGBT Anthology

  • For Colored Boys, by Keith Boykin
  • Here Come the Brides!: Reflections on Lesbian Love and Marriage, Edited by Audrey Bilger & Michele Kort
  • No Straight Lines: Four Decades of Queer Comics, Edited by Justin Hall
  • Why Are Faggots So Afraid of Faggots? Flaming Challenges to Masculinity, Objectification, and the Desire to Conform, Edited by Mattilda Bernstein Sycamore

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult

  • Adaptation, by Malinda Lo
  • The Adventure of Tulip, Birthday Wish Fairy, by S. Bear Bergman and Suzy Malik
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Ask the Passengers, by A.S. King
  • Beautiful Music for Ugly Children, by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
  • Every Day, by David Levithan
  • Kiss the Morning Star, by Elissa Janine Hoole
  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by emily M. danforth
  • Personal Effects, by E.M. Kokie
  • Silhouette of a Sparrow, by Molly Beth Griffin

For more information…

Obituary: Didier Comès

Belgian comics artist Didier Comès (b.1958, Dieter Hermann Comès) died on March 7. Comès debuted the comic strip “Hermann” in 1969 in the newspaper Le Soir. He began publishing the story Ergün l’errant in 1973 in the French magazine Pilote and went on to create Silence, about a mute and deaf boy’s adventures in World War I. He received the Prix Saint-Miche twice.

Obituary: Toren Smith

Anime fan and publisher Toren Smith (b.1960) died on March 5. Smith organized the first major convention anime room at BayCon in California in 1986 and translated The Legend of Kamui, one of the first manga ever translated into English, in 1988. In 1991, he co-founded AnimeCon. In 1986, he founded Studio Proteus, which proceeded to translate manga into English.

Tiptree Award Winners

The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council has announced the winners of the 2012 Tiptree Award. The Award is presented for works of speculative fiction that address gender issues. The winners will be honored at Wiscon the weekend of May 25-27 and will receive $1,000, a piece of artwork, and chocolate. The judges for the 2012 award were Joan Gordon, Andrea Hairston, Lesley Hall, Karen Lord, and Gary K. Wolfe. The judges for 2013 have been announced as Ellen Klages, Christopher Barzak, Jayna Brown, Nene Ormes, and Gretchen Treu.

  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Ancient, Ancient, by Kiini Ibura Salaam

For more information…

Obituary: Mara Brener

Filker Mara Brener (b.1952, Mara Berlin) died on February 27. Brener and her husband, Harry Brener, attended their first convention, LACon II, in 1984. Brener began composing and singing at a young age, but didn’t discover filk until that convention and she and her husband spent the majority of the con in the filk room and their songs were subsequently published in the fanzine Filk Fee-nom-ee-non. Brener was Guest of Honor at Leprecon 30 in 2004 and Contata 2005. In addition to her filk career, she was an artist who worked in oils and stained glass.

Spectrum Finalists

The finalists for the twentieth Spectrum Awards for speculative fiction art have been announced. The winnerswill be announced during Spectrum Live the weekend of May 17-19 in Kansas City. This year’s jury is comprised of Tim Bruckner, Irene Gallo, Tim Kirk, Mark A. Nelson, and Michael R. Whelan.


  • Craig Elliott: Forest Awakening
  • Michael C. Hayes: Procession
  • Android Jones: Ganeshatron
  • Greg Ruth: Three Outlaw Samurai
  • Dan Dos Santos: Dragon Empress


  • Brom: Wipi
  • William O’Connor: Wargriffin
  • David Palumbo: Fed
  • Shaun Tan: Never Leave a Red Sock on the Clothesline
  • Charles Vess: Tanglewood: I Didn’t Know She Was a Bottle Witch


  • Jennifer L. Meyer: Aesop’s Ark, Ch. 2, P2
  • David Petersen: Mouse Guard Black Axe #4, Page 19
  • Paolo Rivera: Daredevil #10
  • Paolo Rivera: Captain America #1
  • João Ruas: Fables #121

Concept Art:

  • Daniel Dociu: Guild Wars 2, Norn Lodge
  • Theo Prins: Southsun Cove
  • Paul Sullivan: Franken-animal
  • Justin Sweet: Marauders 2
  • Allen Willams: Tree of Tales


  • Dan Chudzinski: Turbulence
  • David Meng: Sashimi
  • Virginie Ropars: Mothra
  • Virginie Ropars: Acanthopis III
  • Katya Tal: Blanket Fairy


  • Sam Bosma: Stability
  • Chris Buzelli: Book Monster
  • Sean Andrew Murray: He’s Gone Full-Bird
  • Victo Ngai: Best of the Best
  • Sam Weber: Cancer Monster


  • Ed Binkley: A Cob of Chiseldon-Brimble
  • Lucas Graciano: Dragon Swarm
  • Tyler Jacobson: Ruric Thar, The Unbowed
  • Kekai Kotaki: Stampede
  • David Palumbo: Taken


  • Cory Godbey: The Fish Master
  • Lucas Graciano: Guardianship
  • Kekai Kotaki: Ride
  • Andrew Mar: Tell-Tale Heart
  • Tohru Patrick Awa: Sudden Shower

For more information…

Superman on Hold

DC has announced that it will put the Orson Scott Card penned digital Superman reboot on hold after illustrator Chris Sprouse resigned from the project. DC has come under attack for the project by fans who disagreed with Card’s publicly stated position on homosexuality and same-sex marriage. Sprouse has chosen to resign because he felt that the controversy “took away from the actual work, and that’s something [he] wasn’t comfortable with.”

For more information…

Obituary: Allan B. Calhamer

Game designer Allan B. Calhamer (b.1931) died on February 25. Calhamer is best known for designing the game Diplomacy in 1959. The game went on to influence policy makers, wargamers, and science fiction authors. Calhamer, however, made his living as a mail carrier in his native La Grange Park, Il, where he died.