Obituary: Gary Hayes

Tucson fan Gary Hayes died on May 29 following an heart attack. Hayes was active in the Arizona convention scene, creating several covers and badges for TusCon, the local convention. He also worked security for the convention. Hayes was a fan of steampunk, and one of his hobbies was creating steampunk artifacts and weapons.

Obituary: Andrew Greeley

Author Andrew Greeley (b.1928) died on May 29. Greeley, a priest, turned his attention to writing fiction, with a large oeuvre of mysteries as well as some novels and short stories classified as fantasy and science fiction. His novel God Game is about a priest who enters a fantasy world based on a computer game. His novel The Final Planet is a planetary exploration tale and he edited the anthology Sacred Visions with Michael Cassutt and Martin H. Greenberg.

Obituary: Howard Rosenblum

British fan Howard Rosenblum died on May 26 following a battle with pancreatic cancer. Rosenblum, the soon of Mike Rosenblum, is credited with being Britain’s first second-generation fan. he published the fanzine Son of New Futurian beginning in 1968 and running until 1977. Rosenblum was also an avid con attendee.

Obituary: Jack Vance

Author Jack Vance (b.1916, John Holbrook Vance) died on May 26. Vance debuted with the story “The World-Thinker” in Thrilling Wonder Stories in 1945. He went on to have a lengthy career, notable for his novels in the Dying Earth, Lyonesse, and Demon Princes cycles. He received the Hugo Award for his novella The Dragon Masters and for his autobiography This Is Me, Jack Vance!. His story “The Last Castle” won both the Hugo and Nebula Award. In 1992, Vance was the Guest of Honor at the Worldcon in Orlando and he was named an SFWA Grand Master in 1997. Vance has also received a Lifetime Achievement World Fantasy Award. In addition to his science fiction and fantasy, Vance published mysteries under his full name.

Obituary: Jerry Wright

Editor Jerry Wright (b.1946) died on May 9 after a battle with cancer. Wright was one of the founding editors and publishers of the webzine Bewildering Stories in 2002. Wright has written poetry and reviews in addition to publishing Bewildering Stories.

Library Seeks Hulk

The Northlake (IL) Public Library is holding a crowdsourcing project to purchase and install a 9-foot tall statue of the Incredible Hulk at the library. The funds would also be used to increase the size of the library’s graphic novel collection and to build an interactive station that includes an iMac with a drawing pad, Cintiq interactive pen display, a 3D printer, and a Artograph Light Tracer Elite. The library’s goal is $30,000 by June 9.

For more information…


While fixing up a house he purchased in Elbow Lake, MN for $10,000, David Gonzalez ripped out a wall and discovered an original copy of Action #1, which introduced Superman being used for insulation. Although its condition has been ranked at only 1.5 on a 10 point scale, the comic has already achieved a bid of $127,000 with 19 more days to go before the auction ends. While most known issues of Action #1 have changed hands many times, this issue has not, which adds to its mystique. The auction ends on June 11.
For more information…

Obituary: Laurence Haddon

Actor Laurence Haddon (b.1922) died on May 10. Haddon appeared in episodes of Knight Rider, The Greatest American Hero, The Incredible Hulk, and the short-lived My Living Doll.

Obituary: Steve Forrest

Actor Steve Forrest (b.1924, as William Andrews) died on May 18. Forrest, the younger brother of actor Dana Andrews, appeared in several science fiction and horror television shows, including episodes of The Twilight Zone, Rod Serling’s Night Gallery, Circle of Fear, and Team Knight Rider. His films included Amazon Women on the Moon and Phantom of the Rue Morgue. He won a Golden Globe in 1954 for Most Promising Newcomer and in 1982, he “won” a Razzie for Worst Supporting Actor. He may have been best known for his role on S.W.A.T.

Doctor Who Wins Peabody Award

Doctor Who won a George Foster Peabody Award, one of the highest awards given for American television. The award, which was accepted by Steven Moffat, Matt Smith, and Jenna-Louise Coleman, was presented for “evolving with technology and the times like nothing else in the known television universe.”

For more information…