Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The winners will be announced on July 14 at Readercon 24 in Burlington, Massachusetts.


  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • The Devil in Silver, by Victor LaValle
  • Edge, by Koji Suzuki
  • Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn
  • Immobility, by Brian Evenson


  • 28 Teeth of Rage, by Ennis Drake
  • Delphine Dodd, by S.P. Miskowski
  • I’m Not Sam, by Jack Ketchum and Lucky McKee
  • The Indifference Engine, by Project Itoh
  • “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren


  • “The Crying Child,” by Bruce McAllister (originally published as “The Bleeding Child”
  • “The House on Ashley Avenue,” by Ian Rogers
  • “Reeling for the Empire,” by Karen Russell
  • “Wild Acre,” by Nathan Ballingrud
  • “The Wish Head,” by Jeffrey Ford

Short Fiction:

  • “Bajazzle,” by Margo Lanagan
  • “How We Escaped Our Certain Fate,” by Dan Chaon
  • “Little America,” by Dan Chaon
  • “The Magician’s Apprentice,” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “A Natural History of Autumn,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “Two Houses,” by Kelly Link

Single-Author Collection:

  • Crackpot Palace, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Errantry, by Elizabeth Hand
  • The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories, by Andy Duncan
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, by Robert Shearman
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud, by Jonathan Carroll
  • Windeye, by Brian Evenson

Edited Anthology:

  • 21st Century Dead, edited by Christopher Golden
  • Black Wings II, edited by S. T. Joshi
  • Exotic Gothic 4: Postscripts #28/29, edited by Danel Olson
  • Night Shadows, edited by Greg Herren and J. M. Redmann
  • Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.