Campbell and Sturgeon Finalists

The nominees for the John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Campbell award is given for a novel, the Sturgeon for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held July 13-16, 2013 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.

John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award Nominees

  • The Hydrogen Sonata, by Iain M. Banks
  • Any Day Now, by Terry Bisson
  • Existence, by David Brin
  • The Rapture of the Nerds, by Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross
  • Empty Space, by M. John Harrison
  • Intrusion, by Ken MacLeod
  • Railsea, by China Miéville
  • The Fractal Prince, by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • Blue Remembered Earth, by Alastair Reynolds
  • Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer, by Adam Roberts
  • 2312, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Slow Apocalypse, by John Varley
  • Alif the Unseen, by G. Willow Wilson

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Nominees

  • “Things Greater Than Love,” by Kate Bachus
  • “Immersion,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “Scattered Along the River of Heaven,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Grinnell Method,” by Molly Gloss
  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, by Nancy Kress
  • “The Weight of History, the Lightness of the Future,” by Jay Lake
  • “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species,” by Ken Liu
  • “Mono No Aware,” by Ken Liu
  • “Nahiiku West,” by Linda Nagata
  • Eater of Bone, by Robert Reed
  • “The Peak of Eternal Light,” by Bruce Sterling
  • “(To See the Other) Whole Against the Sky,” by E. Catherine Tobler

For more information…