SFWA Elects New Board

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the results of their board election. The new board will be seated on July 1 and will serve a one year term. An * indicates that the person is an incumbent and was re-elected. A # indicates that a person was running unopposed.

  • President: Steven Gould
  • Vice President: Rachel Swirsky *#
  • Secretary: Susan Forest
  • Treasurer: Bud Sparhawk *#
  • South/Central Regional Director: Lee Martindale*
  • Overseas Regional Director: Tansy Rayner Roberts#

For more information…

Ditmar Winners

The Ditmar Awards were presented at Conflux 9 – the 52nd Australian National SF convention. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Sea Hearts, by Margo Lanagan
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren
  • Best Short Story: “The Wisdom of Ants,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Collected Work: Through Splintered Walls, by Kaaron Warren
  • Best Artwork: Cover art, Kathleen Jennings, for Midnight and Moonshine
  • Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews in Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
  • Best Fan Artist: Kathleen Jennings, for body of work including “The Dalek Game” and “The Tamsyn Webb Sketchbook”
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: The Writer and the Critic, by Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
  • Best New Talent: David McDonald
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Tansy Rayner Roberts, for “Historically Authentic Sexism in Fantasy. Let’s Unpack That”

For more information…

Confluence Cancelled

Pittsburgh convention Confluence 25 has been cancelled due to a lack of hotel. Confluence selected a new hotel this year after their previous hotel raised their rates. Unfortunately, the new hotel has announced plans to close four days before Confluence’s scheduled dates. A quick look was unable to find an available hotel, so the committee has cancelled this year’s event and plans to continue the convention in 2014.
For more information…

Clarke Award Winner

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced during Sci-Fi-London 9: The Ninth Annual International Festival of Science Fiction and Fantastic Film. This year, the award included a prize of £2013. The winner is Chris Beckett for the novel Dark Eden.

For more information…