Chesley Winners Announced

The Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists (ASFA) has announced this year’s winners for the Chesley Awards. The awards were presented at LoneStarCon 3, the 71st Worldcon, in San Antonio, Texas on August 30.

  • Best Cover Illustration: Paperback Book: John Picacio for The Creative Fire, by Brenda Cooper
  • Best Cover Illustration: Hardback Book: Todd Lockwood for The Wild Road, by Jennifer Roberson
  • Best Cover Illustration: Magazine: Ken Barthelmey for Clarkesworld #74, November 2012
  • Best Interior Illustration: Sam Burley for “Brother. Prince. Snake.,” by Cecil Castellucci
  • Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished: Raoul Vitale for “Last of His Kind,” pencil
  • Best Color Work: Unpublished: Julie Bell for “A Passion for the Future,” oil
  • Best Three-Dimensional Art: James Shoop for “Ramataur,” bronze
  • Best Gaming-Related Illustration: David Palumbo for “Ereshkigal, Death Mistress”
  • Best Product Illustration: John Picacio for La Sirena, (Lotera card)
  • Best Art Director: Irene Gallo for Tor
  • Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement: Gerald Brom

For more information…

Preliminary WSFS Business Meeting

The Preliminary WSFS Business Meeting took place on Friday morning at LoneStarCon to determine the debate times for various agenda items at Saturday’s meeting. With several proposed amendments to the constitution, five were passed on to the main meeting and three were killed by object to consideration movements. The Five that will be debated on Saturday include:

  • Worldcon Publications: A Matter of Trust
  • 4.1.2.No Representation Without Taxation
  • 4.1.3: Keep Us Together
  • 4.1.6: Short Title: WSFS Accountability Act of 2013
  • 4.1.8: Expand Best Fan Artist to Include All Types of Fannish Art, Not Just Static and Visual

The three motions that were killed include:

  • 4.1.4: Best Dramatic Presentation, Very Short Form
  • 4.1.5: Short Title: Deleting Best Fanzine, Best Fan Writer, and Best Fan Artist from the WSFS Constitution
  • 4.1.7: YA Hugo

For more information…

Obituary: Seamus Heaney

Nobel Prize winning poet Seamus Heaney (b.1939) died on August 30. Heaney, who has been described as “the most important Irish poet since Yeats,” gained prominence with the publication of his debut collection, Death of a Naturalist in the 1960s. In addition to several volumes of his own poetry, Heaney translated Beowulf in 1999.

Sawyer Play Debuts in Vancouver

Robert Sawyer’s short story “Flashes” has been adapted into a play by Jae Dunphy. The one-hour long play will debut at Vancouver’s Fringe Festival and will run from September 7-15. Flashes explores the consequences of futureshock on a primitive society: ours.

For more information…

Foray Recognized

June Foray will receive the Governor’s Award from the The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Board of Governors. The award, presented by the organization which presents the Emmys, will recognized Foray’s eighty year career in show business, for much of which she has been the pre-eminent female voice artist, providing voices for Rocket J. Squirrel, Natasha Fatale, Witch Hazel, Nell Fenwick, Grandma Fa (from Mulan), and many other cartoons. She will receive the award three days before her 96th birthday.

For more information…

Obituary: Bruce C. Murray

Former JPL Director Bruce C. Murray (b.1931) died on August 29. Murray served as director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory from 1976 through 1982, a period that saw the launch of the Voyager probes. While serving as director, Murray co-founded, along with Carl Sagan and Louis Friedman, the Planetary Society, in 1980, to support research related to astronomy, planetary science, exploration, public outreach, and political advocacy.

Obituary: Gerard Murphy

Actor Gerard Murphy (b.1955) died on August 26 from prostate cancer. Murphy narrated the BBC Radio version of Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. On film, he appeared as “The Nord” in Waterworld and Judge Faden in Batman Begins. He portrayed Richard Maynarde in the 7th Doctor serial Silver Nemesis.

Elgin Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Awards, for speculative fiction poetry chapbook and the full-length poetry book. this is the first year for this award, which is named for SFPA Founder Suzette Haden Elgin.

  • Chapbook: Out of the Black Forest, F.J. Bergmann
  • Book length: Lovers & Killers, by Mary Turzillo

For more information…

Obituary: William Froug

Producer William Froug (b.1922) died on August 25. After careers in the Navy, as an author, and in radio, Froug turned to television in the 1950s, eventually working as a producer and writer on Twilight Zone and Bewitched. His autobiography was called How I Escaped From Gilligan’s Island. He also wrote an episode of the steampunk series Q.E.D.

Kramer’s Day in Court

Thirteen years and one day after being arrested on child molestation charges, Atlanta area fan Ed Kramer has been scheduled to go on trial the weeks of December 2 and 9. Kramer’s trial has been postponed through a series of delaying actions taken on his behalf by his attorneys who have cited a wide variety of health issues including pain related to a cervical (neck) fusion; Type II diabetes; psoriatic arthritis; hypothyroidism; asthma; COPD, or emphysema; sleep apnea; narcoplepsy; fluid retention in his feet; “moderate to severe” hearing loss; and a recent bout with staph infections. Kramer’s trial date may still be changed if the court can’t reach reasonable accomodations for his health issues. Earlier this year, Dragon*Con, which Kramer co-founded, forced a buy-out of Kramer’s shares.

For more information…