World Fantasy Award Ballot

The ballot for this year’s World Fantasy Award has been announced. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con held in Brighton, UK the weekend of October 31-November 3, 2013.


  • The Killing Moon, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale, by Graham Joyce
  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Crandolin, by Anna Tambour
  • Alif the Unseen, by G. Willow Wilson


  • “Hand of Glory,” by Laird Barron
  • “Let Maps to Others,” by K.J. Parker
  • The Emperor’s Soul, by Brandon Sanderson
  • “The Skull,” by Lucius Shepard
  • “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren

Short Story:

  • “The Telling,” by Gregory Norman Bossert
  • “A Natural History of Autumn,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “The Castle That Jack Built,” by Emily Gilman
  • “Breaking the Frame,” by Kat Howard
  • “Swift, Brutal Retaliation,” by Meghan McCarron


  • Epic: Legends of Fantasy, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Three Messages and a Warning: Contemporary Mexican Short Stories of the Fantastic, edited by Eduardo Jiménez Mayo & Chris N. Brown
  • Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • Postscripts #28/#29: Exotic Gothic 4, edited by Danel Olson
  • Under My Hat: Tales from the Cauldron, edited by Jonathan Strahan


  • At the Mouth of the River of Bees, by Kij Johnson
  • Where Furnaces Burn, by Joel Lane
  • The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories Volume One: Where on Earth and Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, by Robert Shearman
  • Jagannath, by Karin Tidbeck


  • Vincent Chong
  • Didier Graffet & Dave Senior
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • J.K. Potter
  • Chris Roberts

Special Award Professional:

  • Peter Crowther & Nicky Crowther for PS Publishing
  • Lucia Graves for the translation of The Prisoner of Heaven, by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  • Adam Mills, Ann VanderMeer, & Jeff VanderMeer for Weird Fiction Review
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi for ChiZine Publications
  • William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Scott H. Andrews for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • L. Timmel Duchamp for Aqueduct Press
  • S.T. Joshi for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2
  • Charles A. Tan for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Jerad Walters for Centipede Press
  • Joseph Wrzos for Hannes Bok: A Life in Illustration

Life Achievement:

  • Susan Cooper
  • Tanith Lee

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.