Hugo Award Winners

The Hugo Awards were presented at LoneStarCon 3 on September 1. The 2013 Hugo trophy base was designed and cast in bronze by Texan sculptor Vincent Villafranca. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, by John Scalzi
  • Best Novella: “The Emperor’s Soul,” by Brandon Sanderson
  • Best Novelette: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi,” by Pat Cadigan
  • Best Short Story: “Mono no aware,” by Ken Liu
  • Best Related Work: Writing Excuses, Season 7, by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson
  • Best Graphic Story: Saga, Volume 1, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): The Avengers, Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Game of Thrones: “Blackwater,” Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
  • Best Editor – Short Form: Stanley Schmidt
  • Best Editor – Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Best Professional Artist: John Picacio
  • Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
  • Best Fanzine: SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
  • Best Fancast: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters), and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
  • Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Fan Artist: Galen Dara
  • Campbell Award Winner: Mur Lafferty
  • Chairman’s Award: Stanley Schmidt

For more information…