A. C. Crispin Says End Is Near

Author A.C. Crispin, whose work on Writers Beware has been a beacon for many new and established authors, and is the author of numerous novels, including tie in novels for Star Wars and Star Trek, and The Pirates of the Caribbean as well as collaborations on the seven Starbridge novels, has announced that the cancer she has been battling has entered a terminal stage. Crispin does not expect to live much longer. but notes that she is surrounded by family and friends and is receiving excellent care.

UCR Launches Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies

University of California-Riverside has announced the launch of its Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies this fall. The program will explore links between science fiction studies, science and technology studies, and technoculture studies. The program will begin as a doctorate, but will eventually add an undergraduate program.

For more information…

Rhysling Award

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented for speculative poetry by the SFPA, were announced at LoneStarCon 3.

  • Short Poem: “The Cat Star,” by Terry A. Garey
  • Long Poem: “Into Flight,” by Andrew Robert Sutton

For more information…

First Fandom Awards

The First Fandom Awards were Presented at LoneStarCon 3 during the Hugo Award Ceremony on September 1. Erle Korshak and Dave Kyle made the presentation.

First Fandom Hall of Fame

  • Sam Basham
  • Earl Kemp
  • Lester Mayer
  • Norman F. Stanley

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame

  • Thaddeus E. Dikty (T.E. Dikty)
  • Raymond A. Palmer

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award for Excellence in Collecting

  • Howard Frank

Obituary: Nick Robinson

British publisher Nick Robinson (b.1955) died on August 30. Robinson was the chairman of Constable & Robinson. He got his start in the 70s as the assistant editor at arts magazine Apollo before moving on to book publishing. C&R published Gardner Dozois’s Best Science Fiction in the United Kingdom.

Obituary: Frederik Pohl

Author, editor, fan, and agent Frederik Pohl (b.1919) died on September 2. Pohl entered fandom in the 1930s, publishing his first poem in 1937. His career has spanned more than 75 years with numerous novels and short stories. In addition to being a prolific author, Pohl has worked as an editor, including the magazines If and Galaxy as well as several anthologies. He has represented many authors as an agent as well. Pohl has won every major award in the field, including the Hugo, Nebula, Grand Master, Hall of Fame, Sturgeon, Campbell, and more. His works include Gateway, Man Plus, and the autobiography The Way the Future Was. Pohl has recently been writing his memoirs on the blog The Way the Future Blogs and has continued to publish fiction.

Parsec Award Winners

The winners for this year’s Parsec Awards, presented for excellence in science fiction podcasting, have been announced. The winners will be announced at Dragon*Con in Atlanta.

  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Short Form): “Now Cydonia,” by Rick Kennett
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Novella Form): “The Shadow Over Innsmouth,” by H.P. Lovecraft, produced by Mike Bennett
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Long Form): Underwood and Flinch, by Mike Bennett
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Large Cast: “The Road To Utopia Plain,” by Rick Kennett
  • Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form): “The Minister of Chance,” by Radio Static
  • Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form): Star Trek: Outpost, by Tony Raymond and Daniel McIntosh
  • Best Speculative Fiction Video Story: I Have Your Heart, by Molly Crabapple, Kim Boekbinder, and Jim Batt
  • Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast: Tales from the Archives, Volume 2, by Tee Morris and Pip Ballentine
  • Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team: The NoSleep Podcast, by David Cummings
  • Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific): RebelForce Radio, by Jimmy Mac and Jason Swank
  • Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General): Nights at the Round Table, by Ash Farbrother
  • Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation: StoryForward, by J.C. Hutchins and Steve Peters
  • Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast: Hubblecast, by Oli Usher & Joe Liske
  • Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast: Blastropodcast, by Mark Soloff
  • Best Speculative Fiction Music Podcast: The Funny Music Project, by Devo Spice

For more information…

Veal Wins Big Heart

Tom Veal was presented with the Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award at the Hugo Award Ceremony at LoneStarCon 3. Veal was recognized for the more than thirty years he has spent in fandom, often working behind the scenes in treasury, for worldcons, ISFiC Press, and Windycon. Veal’s all night parties at LosCon were mentioned as was his chairmanship of Chicon 2000 and (reluctantly) of the International Space Development Conference.

For more information…

Hugo Award Winners

The Hugo Awards were presented at LoneStarCon 3 on September 1. The 2013 Hugo trophy base was designed and cast in bronze by Texan sculptor Vincent Villafranca. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, by John Scalzi
  • Best Novella: “The Emperor’s Soul,” by Brandon Sanderson
  • Best Novelette: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi,” by Pat Cadigan
  • Best Short Story: “Mono no aware,” by Ken Liu
  • Best Related Work: Writing Excuses, Season 7, by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson
  • Best Graphic Story: Saga, Volume 1, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): The Avengers, Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Game of Thrones: “Blackwater,” Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
  • Best Editor – Short Form: Stanley Schmidt
  • Best Editor – Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Best Professional Artist: John Picacio
  • Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
  • Best Fanzine: SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
  • Best Fancast: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters), and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
  • Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Fan Artist: Galen Dara
  • Campbell Award Winner: Mur Lafferty
  • Chairman’s Award: Stanley Schmidt

For more information…

Sasquan: 73rd Worldcon

Spokane has announced that the 2015 Wordlcon will take place the weekend of August 19-23, 2015 at the Spokane Convention Center. Guests of Honor include David Gerrold, Leslie Turek, Tom Smith, Vonda McIntyre, and Brad W. Foster.

For more information…