Obituary: Graham Stone

Australian fan Graham Stone (b.1926) died on November 16. Stone won an A. Bertram Chandler Award in 1999 for Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction. In the 1960ws, Stone published Australian Science Fiction Index: 1939-1962 and Australian Science Fiction Index: 1925-1967. His fanzine, Notes on Australian Science Fiction served as the basis for a book of the same title, and he published other fanzines and bibliographies as well. Several of his works, such as A History of Australian Science Fiction Fandom, 1935-1963, were published pseudonymously.

Obituary: Joseph J. Lazzaro

Author Joseph J. Lazzaro (b.1957) died on November 18. Lazzaro is best known for his non-fiction, including the books Adaptive Technologies for Learning & Work Environments and Adapting PCs for Disabilities. He also worked for the Massachusetts Commission for the Blind. In 1995, he published his first short story, “Ben Franklin’s Spaceship,” written with Peter L. Manly. His only other published fiction was “The Turing Testers,” written with Michael A. Burstein, although he had several non-fiction articles published in Analog as well.

Obituary: Doris Lessing

Author Doris Lessing (b. Doris Tayler in 1919) died on November 17. Lessing, who received a Nobel Prize for Literature in 2007, was a Guest of Honor at Conspiracy ’87, the 1987 Worldcon in Brighton, UK. Her best known works include The Golden Notebook, Memoirs of a Survivor and The Summer Before the Dark. Lessing also wrote the five volume science fiction series Canopus in Argos. When reviewers took her to task for writing science fiction, Lessing replied, “What they didn’t realise was that in science fiction is some of the best social fiction of our time. I also admire the classic sort of science fiction, like Blood Music, by Greg Bear. He’s a great writer.”

Obituary: Sheila Allen

Actress Sheila Allen (b. Sheila Mathews in 1929) died on November 15. Allen was married to producer Irwin Allen and appeared in many of his projects, including City Beneath the Sea, Lost in Space, Land of the Giants, and The Towering Inferno. She also served as a producer on the television film The Time Tunnel.

Obituary: Nigel Davenport

Actor Nigel Davenport (b. 1928) died on October 25. Davenport appeared in the films Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes, The Island of Dr. Moreau, and television productions of Bram Stoker’s Dracula and The Picture of Dorian Gray. Davenport read the lines of the HAL 9000 during filming of 2001: a space odyssey, but was overdubbed by Douglas Rain for the final film. Davenport’s son is Jack Davenport, who portrayed Norrington in Pirates of the Caribbean.

Obituary: Al Ruscio

Actor Al Ruscio (b. 1931) died on November 12. Ruscio may be most familiar to audiences as mob boss Leo Cuneo in The Godfather, Part III, but he also appeared in several genre television shows including Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, The Six Million Dollar Man, Salvage 1, and The X-Files.

Baum Named to Hall of Fame

L. Frank Baum will be inducted into the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame on December 7, at Roosevelt University. Baum is part of the fourth induction class for the Hall of Fame, along with Leon Forrest, Edna Ferber, Ben Hecht, John H. Johnson, and Thornton Wilder. Baum will be represented by his great-grandson, Bob Baum. Wilder, whose The Skin of Their Teeth has some fantastic elements, will be represented by his nephew, Tappan Wilder.

For more information…

Endeavour Award Winner

Laurie Frankel won this year’s Endeavour Award for her novel Goodbye For Now. The winner was announced at Orycon and the award comes with a $1,000 prize and an engraved glass plaque. The Endeavour Award was established to recognize works of SF by authors working and living in the Pacific Northwest. The judges for the 2013 Award were Noreen Doyle, Susan Forest and John Scalzi.

For more information…

Nova Award Winners

The Nova Award winners were announced the weekend of November 10 at Novacon. The Nova Awards are presented to recognize excellence in British fanzine publishing and writing.

  • Fanzine: Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • Fanwriter: Mike Meara
  • Fanartist: D West

For more information…

ISFiC Writers Contest Winner

Liz A. Vogel won the ISFiC Writer’s Contest with her story “Windy van Hooten’s Was Never Like This.” The contest is sponsored by ISFiC in conjunction with Windycon. Vogel won a membership at Windycon, room night, and $300. Her story was published in the con program book. This year’s contest was judged by Bill Fawcett, Roland Green, and Richard Chwedyk.

For more information…