Aurealis Nominations

The 2013 Aurealis Awards shortlist has been announced. The winners will be announced on April 5 in Canberra, Australia. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

Best Illustrated Book or Graphic Novel

  • Savage Bitch, by Steve Carter and Antoinette Rydyr
  • Mr Unpronounceable Adventures, by Tim Molloy
  • Burger Force , by Jackie Ryan
  • Peaceful Tomorrows Volume Two, by Shane W Smith
  • The Deep Vol. 2: The Vanishing Island, by Tom Taylor and James Brouwer

Best Children’s Book

  • Kingdom of the Lost, Book 2: Cloud Road, by Isobelle Carmody
  • Refuge, by Jackie French
  • Song for a Scarlet Runner, by Julie Hunt
  • The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie, by Kirsty Murray
  • Rules of Summer, by Shaun Tan
  • Ice Breaker: The Hidden 1, by Lian Tanner

Best Young Adult Short Fiction

  • “Mah Song,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “By Bonelight,” by Juliet Marillier
  • ”Morning Star,” by D.K. Mok
  • “The Year of Ancient Ghosts,” by Kim Wilkins

Best Young Adult Novel

  • The Big Dry, by Tony Davies
  • Hunting, by Andrea Host
  • These Broken Stars, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls, by Allyse Near
  • The Sky So Heavy, by Claire Zorn

Best Horror Short Fiction

  • “Fencelines,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “The Sleepover,” by Terry Dowling
  • “The Home for Broken Dolls,” by Kirstyn McDermott
  • “The Human Moth,” by Kaaron Warren
  • “The Year of Ancient Ghosts,” by Kim Wilkins

Best Horror Novel

  • The Marching Dead, by Lee Battersby
  • The First Bird, by Greig Beck
  • Path of Night, by Dirk Flinthart
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls, by Allyse Near

Best Fantasy Short Fiction

  • “The Last Stormdancer,” by Jay Kristoff
  • “The Touch of the Taniwha,” by Tracie McBride
  • “Cold, Cold War,” by Ian McHugh
  • “Short Circuit,” by Kirstie Olley
  • “The Year of Ancient Ghosts,” by Kim Wilkins

Best Fantasy Novel

  • Lexicon, by Max Barry
  • A Crucible of Souls, by Mitchell Hogan
  • These Broken Stars, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
  • Newt’s Emerald, by Garth Nix
  • Ink Black Magic, by Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Science Fiction Short Fiction

  • “The Last Tiger,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “Mah Song,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “Seven Days in Paris,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • “Version,” by Lucy Stone
  • “Air, Water and the Grove,” by Kaaron Warren

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Lexicon, by Max Barry
  • Trucksong, by Andrew Macrae
  • A Wrong Turn At The Office Of Unmade Lists, by Jane Rawson
  • True Path, by Graham Storrs
  • Rupetta, by Nike Sulway

Best Anthology

  • The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012, edited by Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene
  • One Small Step, An Anthology Of Discoveries, edited by Tehani Wessely
  • Dreaming Of Djinn, edited by Liz Grzyb
  • The Best Science Fiction And Fantasy Of The Year: Volume Seven, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Focus 2012: Highlights Of Australian Short Fiction, edited by Tehani Wessely

Best Collection

  • The Bone Chime Song and Other Stories, by Joanne Anderton
  • Asymmetry, by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Caution: Contains Small Parts, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • The Bride Price, by Cat Sparks
  • The Year of Ancient Ghosts, by Kim Wilkins

For more information…

Obituary: William Tienken

Kansas City fan William Tienken (b. 1960) died on February 17. For ten years beginning in 1987, he published the fanzine Pulsar, which included more than 2500 book reviews over the course of its run. In 1997, he moved his reviewing on-line to Bookview, where he continued publishing reviews of non-fiction books. Tienken was also active in the Kansas City convention scene and was a con photographer.

Tiptree Winner

The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council has announced the winners of the 2013 Tiptree Award. The Award is presented for works of speculative fiction that address gender issues. The winners will be honored at Wiscon the weekend of May 23-26 and will receive $1,000, a piece of artwork, and chocolate. The judges for the 2013 were Ellen Klages, Christopher Barzak, Jayna Brown, Nene Ormes, and Gretchen Treu.

  • Rupetta, by N. A. Sulway

For more information and the short list…

Obituary: Blue Petal

Minneapolis fan Blue Petal (b.Louis Fallert 1950) died on February 16. Blue Petal suffered a stroke in December, following which he was diagnosed with central nervous system lymphoma. He began publishing Lou’s Apa in 1968, changing the name to Blue’s Apa when he took his nom de fan. In the 1970s, he joined Minneapa. He chaired Minicon 5 and co-chaired Minicon 7. He wa also an avid gamer, creating a gaming system called Castle Keep in the 70s.

Obituary: Jimmy T. Murakami

Director Jimmy T. Murakami (b.Teruaki Murakami 1933) died on February 16. Murakami directed Battle Beyond the Stars and When the Wind Blows. He worked as an animator on several projects, including the 1980s television series The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and as a producer on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

Obituary: Christopher Malcolm

Scottish actor Christopher Malcolm (b.1946) died on February 15. Malcolm’s first screen role was a bit role in the 1968 production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. He went on to play Rogue 2 in The Empire Strikes Back, had appearances in Superman III and Labyrinth and played Kirk Matunas in Highlander. Malcolm also portrayed Brad Majors in the original stage production of The Rocky Horror Show.

Kitschie Winners

Kraken Rum has announced the winners of the 2013 Kitschies, presented for the most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre fiction. Winners will receive a cash prize, a trophy, and a bottle of Kraken Rum. The winners were announced on February 12 at the Seven Dials Club in London.

  • Red Tentacle (Novel): A Tale for the Time Being, by Ruth Ozeki
  • Golden Tentacle (Debut): Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie
  • Inky Tentacle (Cover art): The Age Atomic, by Adam Christopher; illustration by Will Staehle
  • Black Tentacle (Discretionary): Malorie Blackman

For more information…

Skylark Award

At Boskone 51, the weekend of February 14-16, this year’s recipients of the Skylark award was announced. The Skylark Award is presented for significant contributions through work in the field of science fiction and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him. This year’s award was won by Robert J. Sawyer.

For more information…

Obituary: Martin Greenberg

Publisher Martin Greenberg (b.1918) died October 20, 2013. Greenberg founded Gnome Press in 1948 with Dave Kyle and edited several anthologies for the press. Among the works that he published while with Gnome were Isaac Asimov’s Foundation series, which earned him much negative publicity when Asimov eventually published his autobiography, although other authors had good things to say about Greenberg. Greenberg eventually left the science fiction field to become an editor for Abelard–Schuman. He was not related to the anthologist Martin H. Greenberg.

Robinson Named Special Guest

SFWA has announced that Frank Robinson will be a special guest at this year’s Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held from May 16-18 in San Jose. Robinson is the author of the novels The Glass Inferno and The Dark Between the Stars as well as the Hugo Award-winning Science Fiction of the Twentieth Century: An Illustrated History.

For more information…