Retro-Hugo Nominations

This year’s Retro-Hugo nominees were announced by Loncon 3 at three different conventions on April 19. All members of Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, are eligible to vote for this year’s winners, which will be announced at the Worldcon. Not all modern categories are represented due to lack of nominees.

Best Novel

  • Carson of Venus, by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Galactic Patrol, by E. E. “Doc” Smith
  • The Legion of Time, by Jack Williamson
  • Out of the Silent Planet, by C. S. Lewis
  • The Sword in the Stone, by T. H. White

Best Novella

  • Anthem, by Ayn Rand
  • “A Matter of Form,” by H. L. Gold
  • “Sleepers of Mars,” by John Beynon
  • “The Time Trap,” by Henry Kuttner
  • “Who Goes There?” by Don A. Stuart

Best Novelette

  • “Dead Knowledge,” by Don A. Stuart
  • “Hollywood on the Moon,” by Henry Kuttner
  • “Pigeons from Hell,” by Robert E. Howard
  • “Rule 18,” by Clifford D. Simak
  • “Werewoman,” by C. L. Moore

Best Short Story

  • “The Faithful,” by Lester del Rey
  • “Helen O’Loy,” by Lester del Rey
  • “Hollerbochen’s Dilemma,” by Ray Bradbury
  • “How We Went to Mars,” by Arthur C. Clarke
  • “Hyperpilosity,” by L. Sprague de Camp

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • Around the World in Eighty Days, by Jules Verne. Written and directed by Orson Welles
  • A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens. Written and directed by Orson Welles
  • Dracula, by Bram Stoker. Written by Orson Welles & John Housman, directed by Orson Welles
  • R.U.R., by Karel Capek. Produced by Jan Bussell
  • The War of the Worlds, by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick, directed by Orson Welles

Best Editor – Short Form

  • John W. Campbell
  • Walter H. Gillings
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Mort Weisinger
  • Farnsworth Wright

Best Professional Artist

  • Margaret Brundage
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Alex Schomburg
  • H. W. Wesso

Best Fanzine

  • Fantascience Digest, edited by Robert A. Madle
  • Fantasy News, edited by James V. Taurasi
  • Imagination!, edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, & T. Bruce Yerke
  • Novae Terrae, edited by Maurice K. Hanson
  • Tomorrow, edited by Douglas W. F. Mayer

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Donald A. Wollheim

For more information…