Obituary: Oscar Dystal

Editor Oscar Dystal (b.1913) died on May 28. Dystal joined Bantam publishing in the 1950s and brought the company from the brink of bankruptcy to the largest paperback publishers by decreasing its print runs and inventory and promoting classic novels and books he felt would be widely popular. Dystal retired as the chairman of Bantam in 1980.

Obituary: Mike Farren

Bay area fan Mike Farren(b.1949) died on May 22. In the 1980s, Farren served as Chair for The Elves’, Gnomes’ and Little Men’s Science Fiction, Chowder, and Marching Society. Farren also ran a FidoNet computer Bulletin Board System called Sci-Fido that focused on science fiction and fannish interests.

Analog and Asimov’s Readers Polls

The winners of the Asimov’s Readers’ Awards and Analog‘s Analog Analytical Laboratory (AnLab) Awards were announced by Asimov’s editor Sheila Williams and Analog editor Trevor Quachri during the Nebula Weekend in San Jose.

Asimov‘s Readers’ Awards

  • Best Novella: “The Application of Hope,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (August)
  • Best Novelette: “Over There,” by Will McIntosh (January)
  • Best Short Story (tie): “The Wall,” by Naomi Kritzer (April-May); “The New Guys Always Work Overtime,” by David Erik Nelson (February)
  • Best Poem: “Rivers,” by Geoffrey A. Landis (June)
  • Best Cover Artist: Kinuko Craft

Analog‘s Analytical Laboratory (AnLab) Awards

  • Best Novella: “The Chaplain’s Legacy,” by Brad Torgersen (July-August)
  • Best Novelette: “Buddha Nature,” by Amy Thompson (January-February)
  • Best Short Story: “The War of the Worlds, Book One, Chapter 18: The Sergeant-Major,” by John G. Hemry (January-February)
  • Best Fact Article: “The Great Ptolemaic Smackdown and Down-and-Dirty Mud-Wrassle,” by Michael F. Flynn (January-February)
  • Best Cover: July-August 2013 by Tomislav Tikulin

Jim Baen Memorial Contest Winners

The winners of the 2014 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest, sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, have been announced. The contest looks for stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner will be published as the featured story on the Baen Books main website and paid at the normal paying rates for professional stories and receive an award, membership to the 2014 International Space Development Conference, a year’s membership in the National Space Society, and a prize package containing various Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise.

  • Grand Prize: “Low Arc,” by Sean Monaghan
  • 2nd Place: “Balance,” by Marina J. Lostetter

For more information…

Obituary: Ken Brown

Ken Brown (b.circa 1957) died on May 19. Brown was a long-time reviewer for Interzone, beginning with issue 19 in 1987 and continuing through 1998. During that time, Brown also contributed non-fiction essays to the magazine and occasionally had review appear in Foundation.

John W. Campbell Award Nominees

The nominees for the John W. Campbell Awards have been announced. The award will be presented at the Campbell Conference and Awards Ceremony in Lawrence, KS on the weekend of July 13-15. The award is selected by a jury consisting of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.

  • Lexicon, by Max Barry
  • Proxima, by Stephen Baxter
  • The Circle, by Dave Eggers
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, by Karen Joy Fowler
  • Hild, by Nicola Griffith
  • The Cusanus Game, by Wolfgang Jeschke
  • Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie
  • The Disestablishment of Paradise, by Phillip Mann
  • Evening’s Empires, by Paul McAuley
  • The Red: First Light, by Linda Nagata
  • The Adjacent, by Christopher Priest
  • On the Steel Breeze, by Alastair Reynolds
  • Shaman, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Neptune’s Brood, by Charles Stross
  • Strange Bodies, by Marcel Theroux

For more information…

Rebel and Phoenix Awards

The Rebel Award, Phoenix Award, and the Rubble Award, all presented at Contrails/DeepSouthCon 52 in Bristol, VA. The Rebel and Phoenix Awards are official awards, while the Rubble is an unofficial, but traditional award. The Rebel Award is presented for service to Southern fandom by a fan. the Phoenix is given for support by a pro of Southern fandom and/or professional work reflecting positively on the South, and the Rubble is given for the fan who’s done the most to Southern Fandom.

  • Rebel Award: Judy Bemis
  • Phoenix Award: Steve Jackson
  • Rubble Award: Gary Robe, for screwing up the SFPA ego boo poll

For more information…

Obituary: Wubbo Ockels

Astronaut Wubbo Ockels (b.1946) died on May 18. Ockels was the first Dutch astronaut, flying on STS-61-A in 1985, the last successful mission of the Challenger. He was seconded to NASA by the European Space Agency for the flight. Ockels served on the SpaceLab 1 crew and has an asteroid named in his honor.

Nebula Award Winners

SFWA presented the 50th annual Nebula Awards in San Jose, CA on May 18. In addition to the Nebula Awards, SFWA also presented the Kevin O’Donnell Service to SFWA Award, the Damon Knight Grand Master Award, the Andre Norton Award, and the Ray Bradbury Award.

  • Best Novel: Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie
  • Best Novella: The Weight of the Sunrise, by Vylar Kaftan
  • Best Novelette: “The Waiting Stars,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • Best Short Story: “If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,” by Rachel Swirsky
  • Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Sister Mine, by Nalo Hopkinson
  • Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Gravity, written by Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón, directed by Alfonso Cuarón
  • Kevin J. O’Donnell Service to SFWA Award: Michael Armstrong
  • Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Samuel R. Delany

Nebula Award Live Stream

SFWA will be presenting the Nebula Awards from San Jose this evening beginning around 7:45 PST. The event will be streamed on Ustream. In addition to the Nebula Awards presentations will include the Service to SFWA Award, the Grand Master Award, the Bradbury Award, and the Norton Award. Ellen Klages will be toastmastering.

A note: As I will be attending the ceremony, the posting of results here may be delayed.

To watch the awards…