Colfer Named Laureate na nOg

Eion Colfer has been named Laureate na nOg of Ireland. The title is the highest honor given children’s writer or illustrator in Ireland. Colfer is the third person awarded the title, which he will hold until 2016. Colfer is best known for publishing the Artemis Fowl series.

For more information…

Obituary: David Wayne Keller

LASFS Fan David Wayne Keller (b.1961) died on May 7. Keller joined LASFS in 1987 and was also active in Doctor Who fandom, belonging to the Time Meddlers of Los Angeles, where he went by the name “The Brigadier.”

Obituary: Colin Pillinger

British scientist Colin Pillinger (b.1943) died on May 7. Pillinger was the force behind the Beagle 2 space probe sent to Mars in 2003, although the probe burned up in the Martian atmosphere. Prior to that Pillinger had worked studying samples brought back by Apollo 11.

Locus Finalists Announced

The finalists for this year’s Locus Award, based on votes from Locus readers, have been announced. The winner will be announced in Seattle during the weekend of June 27-29, 2014.

Science Fiction Novel

  • MaddAddam, by Margaret Atwood
  • Abaddon’s Gate, by James S. A. Corey
  • The Best of All Possible Worlds, by Karen Lord
  • Shaman, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Neptune’s Brood, by Charles Stross

Fantasy Novel

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman
  • NOS4A2, by Joe Hill
  • River of Stars, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King
  • The Republic of Thieves, by Scott Lynch

Young Adult Book

  • Zombie Baseball Beatdown, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black
  • Homeland, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Summer Prince, by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two, by Catherynne M. Valente

First Novel

  • The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic, by Emily Croy Barker
  • The Golden City, by J. Kathleen Cheney
  • Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie
  • A Stranger in Olondria, by Sofia Samatar
  • The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker


  • “Wakulla Springs,” by Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages
  • Black Helicopters, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • “The Princess and the Queen,” by George R. R. Martin
  • “Precious Metal,” by Robert Reed
  • Six-Gun Snow White, by Catherynne M. Valente


  • “The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling,” by Ted Chiang
  • “The Waiting Stars,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “A Terror,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “The Sleeper and the Spindle,” by Neil Gaiman
  • “The Prayer of Ninety Cats,” by Caitlín R. Kiernan

Short Story

  • “Some Desperado,” by Joe Abercrombie
  • “The Science of Herself,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Road of Needles,” by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • “A Brief History of the Trans-Pacific Tunnel,” by Ken Liu
  • “The Dead Sea-Bottom Scrolls,” by Howard Waldrop


  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirtieth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
  • Unnatural Creatures, edited by Neil Gaiman & Maria Dahvana Headley
  • Old Mars, edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois
  • The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Seven, edited by Jonathan Strahan


  • The Best of Joe Haldeman, by Joe Haldeman
  • The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Kabu Kabu, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Bread We Eat in Dreams, by Catherynne M. Valente
  • The Best of Connie Willis, by Connie Willis


  • Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • Subterranean


  • Angry Robot
  • Orbit
  • Small Beer
  • Subterranean Press
  • Tor


  • John Joseph Adams
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Ann & Jeff VanderMeer


  • Bob Eggleton
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan
  • Charles Vess
  • Michael Whelan


  • Here Be Dragons: Exploring Fantasy Maps and Settings, by Stefan Ekman
  • Strange Matings: Science Fiction, Feminism, African American Voices, and Octavia E. Butler, edited by Rebecca J. Holden & Nisi Shawl
  • The Man From Mars: Ray Palmer’s Amazing Pulp Journey, by Fred Nadis
  • Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction, by Jeff VanderMeer
  • Afrofuturism: The World of Black Sci-Fi and Fantasy Culture, by Ytasha L. Womack

Art Book

  • Hannes Bok: A Life in Illustration, by Hannes Bok, edited by Joseph Wrzos
  • The Alluring Art of Margaret Brundage, by Margaret Brundage, edited Stephen D. Korshak & David Spurlock
  • Spectrum 20: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, edited by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner
  • Maurice Sendak: A Celebration of the Artist and His Work, by Maurice Sendak, edited by Justin G. Schiller, Dennis M.V. David & Leonard S. Marcus
  • Rules of Summer, by Shaun Tan

For more information…

Obituary: Bill Dana

Astronaut Bill Dana (b.1930) died on May 6. Dana served in the Air Force before joining NASA in 1958. From 1960 through 1962, he was a pilot astronaut in the U.S. Air Force X-20 Dyna-Soar program and eventually flew the X-15 into space in 1966 and 1968, although as a pilot he didn’t receive astronaut wings. NASA eventually gave him his wings in 2005. He remained with NASA in various capacities for several years and is not the comedian of the same name who created astronaut character José Jimenez.

Obituary: Don O’Shea

New York fan Don O’Shea died on May 3. O’Shea was active in New York fandom, helping to run the dealer’s room at Icon for several years.

SLF Offers Diversity Grants

The Speculative Literature Foundation has announced two new grants, the Diverse Writers Grant and the Diverse Worlds Grant. The Diverse Writers Grant is intended to support new and emerging writers from underrepresented and underprivileged groups, including writers of color, women, queer writers, disabled writers, working-class writers, and those whose marginalized identities may present additional obstacles in the writing and/or publishing process. The Diverse Worlds Grant is intended for work that best presents a diverse world, regardless of the writer’s background. Applications for the grants, each of which is for $500, are being accepted through September 15.
For more information…

Vinge to Receive Lifetime Award

Vernor Vinge will receive a Lifetime Achievement Prometheus Award from the Libertarian Futurist Society. This is only the second Lifetime Achievement Award the organization has presented. Vinge has won the Prometheus Awards on four separate occasions, for his novels Marooned in Realtime and A Deepness in the Sky and the Hall of Fame award for his stories “The Ungoverned” and “True Names.” He will receive the award during Marcon 50, where he will be one of the guests of honor, the weekend of May 8-10.

For more information…

Obituary: Dick Ayers

Artist Dick Ayers (b.1924) died on May 4. Ayers started inking comics in the 1940s and in 1949 co-created Ghost Rider with Ray Krank. After the copyright expired, he re-created a less horror-inspired Ghost Rider for Marvel along side Roy Thomas and Gary Friedrich. He went on to ink several covers for Marvel and won the Alley Award for Sgt. Fury and his Howling Commandoes. Ayers was inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Book Hall of Fame in 2007.

Sturgeon Award Finalists

The nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Sturgeon for a short story. The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held June 12-15, 2014 in Lawrence KS.

  • “Bloom,” by Gregory Norman Bossert
  • “The Weight of the Sunrise,” by Vylar Kaftan
  • “They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass,” by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • “Over There,” by Will McIntosh
  • “The Wildfires of Antarctica,” by Alan De Niro
  • “The Irish Astronaut,” by Val Nolan
  • “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss Behind,” by Sarah Pinsker
  • “Mystic Falls,” by Robert Reed
  • “Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer,” by Kenneth Scheyer
  • “The Urishima Effect,” by E. Lily Yu

For more information…