British Fantasy Award Nominations

The British Fantasy Away nominees have been announced. In a change from previous years, the winners be selected by the previously announced juries, while the British Fantasy Society committee will pick the winner of the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award). The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2014 in York on 6 or 7 September 2014.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Between Two Thorns, by Emma Newman
  • Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, by Lou Morgan
  • The Glass Republic, by Tom Pollock
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman
  • A Stranger in Olondria, by Sofia Samatar

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • House of Small Shadows, by Adam Nevill
  • Mayhem, by Sarah Pinborough
  • NOS4R2, by Joe Hill
  • Path of Needles, by Alison Littlewood
  • The Shining Girls, by Lauren Beukes
  • The Year of the Ladybird, by Graham Joyce

Best Novella

  • Beauty, by Sarah Pinborough
  • Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, by Paul Meloy
  • Spin, by Nina Allan
  • Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle, by Nina Allan
  • Whitstable, by Stephen Volk

Best Short Story

  • “Chalk,” by Pat Cadigan
  • “Death Walks En Pointe,” by Thana Niveau
  • “Family Business,” by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • “The Fox,” by Conrad Williams
  • “Golden Apple,” by Sophia McDougall
  • “Moonstruck,” by Karin Tidbeck
  • “Signs of the Times,” by Carole Johnstone

Best Collection

  • For Those Who Dream Monsters, by Anna Taborska
  • Holes for Faces, by Ramsey Campbell
  • Monsters in the Heart, by Stephen Volk
  • North American Lake Monsters, by Nathan Ballingrud

Best Anthology

  • End of the Road, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • Fearie Tales, edited by Stephen Jones
  • Rustblind and Silverbright, edited by David Rix
  • Tales of Eve, edited by Mhairi Simpson
  • The Tenth Black Book of Horror, edited by Charles Black

Best Small Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, by D.F. Lewis
  • Doors to Elsewhere, by Mike Barrett
  • Fantasy Faction, edited by Marc Aplin
  • Speculative Fiction 2012, edited by Justin Landon and Jared Shurin
  • “‘We Have Always Fought’: Challenging the ‘Women, Cattle and Slaves” Narrative,” by Kameron Hurley

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, edited by Michael Kelly

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Demeter, by Becky Cloonan
  • Jennifer Wilde, by Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney and Stephen Downey
  • Porcelain, by Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose
  • Rachel Rising, by Terry Moore
  • Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • The Unwritten, by Mike Carey and Peter Gross

Best Artist

  • Adam Oehlers
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Daniele Serra
  • Joey Hi-Fi
  • Tula Lotay
  • Vincent Chong

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Doctor Who: “The Day of the Doctor,” by Steven Moffat
  • Game of Thrones: “The Rains of Castamere,” by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
  • Gravity, by Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro
  • Iron Man 3, by Drew Pearce and Shane Black

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice
  • Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns
  • Francis Knight, for Fade to Black
  • Laura Lam, for Pantomime
  • Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon
  • Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season

For more information…