Chronos Award Winners

The winners of the 2014 Chronos Awards for excellence in SF, fantasy, and horror published in the Australian state of Victoria, were announced at Continuum X in Melbourne.

  • Best Long Fiction: Gamers’ Rebellion, by George Ivanoff
  • Best Short Fiction: No Award
  • Best Artwork: Rules of Summer, by Shaun Tan
  • Best Fan Publication in any Medium: SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
  • Best Achievement: Gamers’ Rebellion book trailer, by Henry Gibbens

For more information…

A. Bertram Chandler Award

Danny Danger Oz won this year’s A. Bertram Chandler Award, presented at Continuum X in Melbourne. Oz is active in conrunning on Western Australia and Victoria and was the president of ConFound, the organization that runs Continuum. The Chandler Awards is given by the Australian SF Foundation for Lifetime Service to Australian Science Fiction.

GUFF Winner Announced

Gillian Polack was named the GUFF winner in a field that included a total of five competitors. Polack will travel to the United Kingdom to participate in Loncon 3 later this year.

Dr. Sawyer

Robert J. Sawyer received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Winnipeg on June 12. This is Sawyer’s second honorary doctorate. He previously received an honorary Doctor of Letters degree from Laurentian University in 2007.

For more information…

Seiun Translation Nominations

The nominations for the Seiun Awards have been announced. The translation categories are presented below. The Seiun Awards are the Japanese fan-voted awards and winners will be announced at Nutscon, the 53rd Japanese National SF convention, held July 19-20, 2014 in Tsukuba Japan.

Best Translated Novel

  • Incandescence, by Greg Egan, translated by Yamagishi Shin
  • Serpent’s Egg, by R.A. Lafferty, translated by Inoue Hisashi
  • Embassytown, by China Miéville, translated by Masayuki Uchida
  • Kraken, by China Miéville, translated by Masamichi Higurashi
  • The Islanders, by Christopher Priest, translated by Furusawa Yoshimi-dori
  • Blindsight, by Peter Watts, translated by Yoichi Shimada
  • Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis, translated by N. Omori

Best Translated Story

  • “Final Exam,” by Megan Akenberg, translated by Jun Suzuki
  • “Vacuum Lad,” by Stephen Baxter, translated by Yagauchi Satoru
  • “Christopher Raven,” by Theodora Goss, translated by Jun Suzuki
  • “The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” by Kij Johnson, translated by Misumi Kazuyo
  • “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu, translated by Furusawa Yoshimi-dori
  • “Palimpsest,” by Charles Stross, translated by Hiroshi Kaneko

For more information…

Mythopoeic Nominees

The nominees for the Mythopoeic Awards have been announced. In addition to fiction awards for adult and children’s literature, the awards also recognize scholarship in fantasy literature and Inkling studies. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 45, during the weekend of August 8-11, in Norton, Massachusetts.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • The Ghost Bride, by Yangsze Choo
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman
  • Three Parts Dead, by Max Gladstone
  • Sleepless Knights, by Mark H. Williams
  • The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Ghoulish Song, by William Alexander
  • Doll Bones, by Holly Black
  • Killer of Enemies, by Joseph Bruchac
  • Conjured, by Sara Beth Durst
  • Shadows, by Robin McKinley

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • There and Back Again: J.R.R. Tolkien and the Origins of the Hobbit, by Mark Atherton
  • C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages, by Robert Boenig
  • Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays, edited by Jason Fisher
  • C.S. Lewis—A Life: Eccentric Genius, Reluctant Prophet, by Alister McGrath
  • Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit, by Corey Olsen

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • The Book of Legendary Lands, by Umberto Eco, translated by Alastair McEwan
  • Dancing the Tao: Le Guin and Moral Development, by Sandra J. Lindow
  • Tree of Salvation: Yggdrasil and the Cross in the North, by G. Ronald Murphy
  • As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality, by Michael Saler
  • Critical Discourses of the Fantastic, 1712-1831, by David Sandner

For more information…

Obituary: Veronica Lazar

Actress Veronica Lazar (b.1938) died on June 9. Lazar appeared in several horror films, including Inferno, The Beyond, and the Italian mini series 6 passi nel giallo. She also appeared in Last Tango in Paris.

Obituary: Martha Hyer

Actress Martha Hyer (b.1924) died on May 31. Hyer is best known for her work in Sabrina and The Sons of Katie Elder, but also appeared in First Men in the Moon, Abbott and Costello Go to Mars, and the horror film Picture Mommy Dead. She received an Oscar nomination for her role in Some Came Running.

Obituary: Susan Kahn

Fan Susan Kahn (b.1960) died on June 9. Kahn ran many registration desks for Lunacon and was also a pediatrician. Kahn has been battling pancreatic cancer.

Amazing Offer

Publisher Steve Davidson is offering a subscription to Amazing Stories to any member of Detcon1 or Loncon 3, this year’s NASFIC and Worldcon. Members of each convention will be given the opportunity to indicate whether or not they wish to take advantage of the offer. Amazing Stories subscribers will receive a number of benefits, including a subscriber discount on items sold in its soon to open store, advance notification and access to new fiction, special on-site services, and first dibs on limited edition offerings.

For more information…