ESFS Awards Presented

The winners of the 2014 European Science Fiction Society Awards were announced August 24 at Shamrokon, the 36th Eurocon, in Dublin. The Hall of Fame awards are awarded to people who have had an impact both inside and outside their native country. The Spirit of Dedication awards are presented for works and performances produced since the previous Eurocon.

European Grand Master: Jim Fitzpatrick – Ireland

Hall of Fame

  • Best Author: Wolfgang Jeschke – Germany
  • Best Artist: Jim Fitzpatrick – Ireland
  • Best Publisher: Angry Robot – United Kingdom
  • Best Magazine: Cosmoport – Belarus
  • Best Translator: Ms. Kersti Juva – Finland
  • Best Promoter of Science Fiction: Dave Lally – Ireland

Spirit of Dedication:

  • Artist: Alexander Prodan – Ukraine
  • Best Performance: Adaption of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog – Croatia
  • Best SF Website: Geek Ireland – Ireland
  • Best Fanzine: Darker – Russia
  • Best Creator of Children’s Science Fiction or Fantasy Books: (tie) Oisín McGann – Ireland; Vladimir Arenev – Ukraine

For more information…