Emmy Award Winners

The Primetime Emmy Awards were presented on August 25. On August 16, the Creative Emmy Awards were presented in a non-televised ceremony. Below is a list of categories with winners of genre interest.

  • Outstanding Animated Program: Bob’s Burgers
  • Outstanding Short-Format Animated Program: Disney Mickey Mouse, “‘O Sole Minnie”
  • Outstanding Art Direction for a Contemporary or Fantasy Series (Single-Camera): Game of Thrones, Deborah Riley, Production Designer; Paul Ghirardani, Art Director; Rob Cameron, Set Decorator
  • Outstanding Costumes for a Series: Game of Thrones, Michele Clapton, Costume Designer; Sheena Wichary, Costume Supervisor; Alexander Fordham, Assistant Costume Designer; Nina Ayres, Assistant Costume Designer
  • Outstanding Costumes for a Miniseries, Movie, or a Special: American Horror Story: Coven, Lou Eyrich, Costume Designer; Elizabeth Macey, Costume Supervisor; Ken Van Duyne, Assistant Costume Designer
  • Outstanding Multi-Camera Picture Editing for a Comedy Series: The Big Bang Theory, “The Cooper Extraction,” Peter Chalkos
  • Outstanding Hairstyling for a Miniseries or a Movie: American Horror Story: Coven, Monte C. Haught, Michelle Ceglia, Yolanda Mercadel, and Daina Daigle
  • Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for a Series, Miniseries, Movie, or a Special: Game of Thrones, “The Children,” Jane Walker and Barrie Gower
  • Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score): COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, “Standing Up in the Milky Way, Alan Silvestri
  • Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music: COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, Alan Silvestri
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Jim Parsons and “Sheldon Cooper” in The Big Bang Theory
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries, or a Movie: Jessica Lange as “Fiona Goode” in American Horror Story: Coven
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries, or a Movie: Kathy Bates as “Madame Delphine LaLaurie” in American Horror Story: Coven
  • Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series: Black Sails, Benjamin Cook, Iain Eyre, Sue Cahill, Jeffrey A. Pitts, Tim Tuchrello, Brett Voss, Michael Baber, Jeffrey Wilhoit, and James “Jimmy” Moriana
  • Outstanding Sound Editing for Nonfiction Programming (Single Or Multi-Camera): COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, “Standing Up In The Milky Way,” Christopher Harvengt, Richard S. Steele, Kevin Meltcher, Jeff Carson, Bob Costanza, Lisa Varetakis, Bill Bell, Tim Chilton, and Jill Sanders
  • Outstanding Special and Visual Effects: Game of Thrones, “The Children,” Joe Bauer, Joern Grosshans, Steve Kullback, Adam Chazen, Eric Carney, Sabrina Gerhardt, Matthew Rouleau, Thomas H. Schelesny, and Robert Simon
  • Outstanding Special and Visual Effects in a Supporting Role: Black Sails, “I.,” Erik Henry, Paul Graff, George Murphy, Annemarie Griggs, Mitch Claspy, Hattingh, Doug Hardy, Nick Hsieh, and Steve Messing
  • Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or a Dramatic Special: American Horror Story: Coven, “Bitchcraft,” written by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk

For more information…