Man Booker Shortlist

The Man Booker Shortlist has been announced and includes a novel by a science fiction author. This is the first year the award has included North American eligibility and Karen Joy Fowler is one of two Americans to make the short list for her novel We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves. The Man Booker is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the literary world. The winner will be announced on October 14. This year’s panel of judges includes AC Grayling, Jonathan Bate, Sarah Churchwell, Daniel Glaser, Alastair Niven, and Erica Wagner.

  • To Rise Again at a Decent Hour, by Joshua Ferris
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North, by Richard Flanagan
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, by Karen Joy Fowler
  • J, by Howard Jacobson
  • The Lives of Others, by Neel Mukherjee
  • How to Be Both, by Ali Smith

For more information…

WSFA Small Press Finalists

The finalists for the 2014 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Awards have been announced. The awards are given annually to recognize excellence in short fiction originally published in small press venues. This year’s winners will be announced October 10-12 at Capclave.

  • “Acts of Chivalry,” by Sean McMullen
  • “Bits,” by Naomi Kritzer
  • “Explaining Cthulhu to Grandma,” by Alex Shvartsman
  • “Like a Bat Out of Hell,” by Jonathan Shipley
  • “Morning Star,” by DK Mok
  • “Set Your Face Towards the Darkness,” by David McDonald
  • “The Traditional,” by Maria Dahvana Headley
  • “Trap-weed,” by Gemma Files

For more information…

Obituary: Donatas Banionis

Actor Donatas Banionis (b.1924) died on September 4. Banionis starred in the 1972 film Solaris as well as The Red Tent, a Russian adaptation of The Little Prince, a Russian adaptation of The Martian Chronicles, and Begstvo mistera Mak-Kinli.

British Fantasy Awards

The British Fantasy Society announced the winners of the 2014 British Fantasy Awards at FantasyCon 2014 in York on September 7, 2014. The winners are:

  • Best Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): A Stranger in Olondria, by Sofia Samatar
  • Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award): The Shining Girls, by Lauren Beukes
  • Best Novella: Beauty, by Sarah Pinborough
  • Best Short Story: “Signs of the Times,” by Carole Johnstone
  • Best Collection: Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk
  • Best Anthology: End of the Road, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award): The Alchemy Press
  • Best Non-Fiction: Speculative Fiction 2012, edited by Justin Landon and Jared Shurin
  • Best Magazine/Periodical: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
  • Best Artist: Joey Hi-Fi
  • Best Comic/Graphic Novel: Demeter, by Becky Cloonan
  • Best Film/Television episode: Game of Thrones: “The Rains of Castamere,” by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
  • Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice
  • The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award): Farah Mendlesohn

For more information…

Janusz A. Zajdel Awards

The 2014 Janusz A. Zajdel Awards were presented this weekend at Polcon, the Polish national convention, in Bielsko-Biała, Poland. The winners are:

  • Novel: Cienioryt, by Krzysztof Piskorski
  • Short Story: “Człowiek nieciągły,” by Anna Kantoch (“The Discontinuous Man”)

For more information… (Polish)

Hank Reinhardt Award

Ron Zukowski, the co-Chair of ConFederation, received the Hank Reinhardt Award at Dragoncon. The Hank Reinhardt Award was founded in 1990 as the Georgia Fandom Award and is given to a Georgia fan who has contributed to the genre. Following Reinhardt’s death, the award was renamed in his honor.

Obituary: Kirby McCauley

Agent Kirby McCauley (b.1948) died on August 30. McCauley represented George R. R. Martin, Roger Zelazny, Stephen King, and many other successful authors. In addition to working as an agent, he was an anthologist and won the World Fantasy Award for editing Dark Forces. In 1975, McCauley chaired the first World Fantasy Convention.

Parsec Winners

The winners for this year’s Parsec Awards, presented for excellence in science fiction podcasting, were announced at DragonCon in Atlanta in August 31.

  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Short Form): “Growth Spurt,” by Growth Spurt
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Novella Form): “Blood and Smoke,” by Mike Bennett
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story: Large Cast (Short Form): “Dirty Hands,” by Niall Kitson
  • Best Speculative Fiction Story (Long Form): Fire on the Mound, by William J. Meyer
  • Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form): “Tallington,” by Jon Thrower
  • Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form): We’re Alive: A Story of Survival, by Kc Wayland
  • Best Speculative Fiction Video Story: Once Upon a Time in the 1970′s, by Chris & Anne Lukeman
  • Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast: The NoSleep Podcast, by David Cummings
  • Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team: Hadron Gospel Hour, by Richard Wentworth, Michael McQuilkin, Lisa McQuilkin, and Michael Atkinson
  • Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific): Cyborgs: A Bionic Podcast, hosted by John S. Drew and Paul K. Bisson
  • Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General): Sword & Laser, hosted by Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt
  • Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation: StoryWonk Sunday, by Lani Diane Rich and Alistair Stephens
  • Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast: Guide to Space, hosted by Fraser Cain
  • Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast: Dragon*ConTV, by Brian Richardson

For more information…

Filk History Crowdsourced

Gary McGath has announced that he is crowdsourcing the book Tomorrow’s Songs Today: The History of Filk Music. When the work is complete it will be published as an e-book tracing the history of filk from early conventions to the present day. McGath expects the book will be published by the end of this year, but is looking for financial assistance to make it happen.

For more information…

Canadian Faned Awards Expansion

Canadian fan R. Graeme Cameron, who founded the Canadian Fanzine Fanac Society and began to present the Faned Awards for Canadian fanzines, has announced that he will accept votes from around the world instead of just Canada this year. According to Cameron, only 19 people voted last year, and since many LOCs and contributions to Canadian fanzines originate in other countries, it is clear that interest in Canadian fanzines is international.